The Girl with All the Gifts by M.R. Carey

cover35671-mediumHow did I get the book?  Netgalley, thank you Orbit

Genre: Horror

Synopsis:
NOT EVERY GIFT IS A BLESSING

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class.

When they come for her, Sergeant Parks keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don’t like her. She jokes that she won’t bite. But they don’t laugh.

Melanie is a very special girl.

200words (or less) review: I ended up reading the whole book in one day, staying up much too late to finish it. Initially I did wonder if the fact that it was quite a big book would make the story drag but it never happened.

M.R. Carey convinced me early on that Melanie is a little girl, not a specimen or monster. She is a very likable character a huge part of why this book is so good. I thought that the dilemma Melanie’s existence and her awareness of herself brings to the group dynamics were fascinating to read.

I’ve read quite a few zombie stories in the last few years and The Hungries will stay with me. At the beginning of the book they didn’t make as much of an impact as at the end, I think it’s because I pictured everything better once Melanie and the others reached London. The Hungry that’s still walking despite stuff growing – that one freaked me out.

The Girl with All the Gifts had my attention from the beginning; it’s a thrilling and compelling read. I was impressed with the ending and look forward to seeing what other novels M.R. Carey will write.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “The Girl with All the Gifts by M.R. Carey

Leave a Reply

