Dearest (Woodcutter Sisters #3) by Alethea Kontis

17155793How did I get the book?
Received signed ARC @ BEA

Genre: Fairytale Retelling

Previously Reviewed:
Enchanted & Hero

Synopsis: In her third book about the delightful Woodcutter sisters, Alethea Kontis masterfully weaves “The Wild Swans,” “The Goose Girl,” and a few other fine-feathered fairy tales into a magical, romantic companion novel to Enchanted and Hero.

Readers met the Woodcutter sisters (named after the days of the week) in Enchanted and Hero. In this delightful third book, Alethea Kontis weaves together some fine-feathered fairy tales to focus on Friday Woodcutter, the kind and loving seamstress. When Friday stumbles upon seven sleeping brothers in her sister Sunday’s palace, she takes one look at Tristan and knows he’s her future. But the brothers are cursed to be swans by day. Can Friday’s unique magic somehow break the spell?

A slightly different review: Can this be my review: ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥!!!
No? Ok I’ll use actual words.

I think Alethea Kontis has magic herself. Dearest is probably the closest I have ever come to the perfect fairytale book. It’s like it was written as my made to order dream story. Which is surprising because while I was sure I would enjoy it I didn’t expect Friday Woodcutter’s story to be the one I’d love so so so much.

You know how you have songs you listen to on repeat? Movies you watch over and over? Dearest is the book that I’ll have to replace because I’m wearing the pages out. I’ve re-read the best parts twice already and I only just finished the book.

So what is it about this book? Well from the previous books you already know I love Alethea Kontis’s writing, her characters and the interesting new spins she has on classic tales. There is humour (you will laugh) and then a reality check – it’s all fantastical with talking animals and cursed princes but you still have to do laundry, meet the potential father-in-law and deal with insect cravings even when you stopped being a frog over a year ago. That is why these books are so brilliant. You have the magic but you also have a reminder that it’s not all rainbows and sparkles, or feathers as the case may be.

Ever so often a book comes along that let’s my little romantic-self loose (despite my best efforts to keep her locked up). I was very invested in Tristan and Friday’s relationship. There were sighs and swoons and cheers… yep I admit it.

I have loved every book from the Woodcutter Sisters Series, though I think Dearest might be my favourite. Hopefully it won’t be too long before the next adventure in Arilland.

Recommend it?

Sunshine Star

Expected publication:
February 3rd 2015 by HMH Books

*Alethea Kontis will be stopping by for an interview on the 22 July 2014*

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “Dearest (Woodcutter Sisters #3) by Alethea Kontis

  1. Pingback: Book of the Year 2014 | Luna’s Little Library

Leave a Reply

