The Wizards of Once by Cressida Cowell

Once there were Wizards, who were Magic, and Warriors, who were not. But Xar, son of the King of Wizards, can’t cast a single spell. And Wish, daughter of the Warrior Queen, has a banned magical object of her own. When they collide in the wildwood, on the trail of a deadly witch, it’s the start of a grand adventure that just might change the fabric of their worlds.

With Cressida Cowell’s trademark wit, and the same stunning combination of action, adventure, humour, heart, and incredible artwork that made How to Train Your Dragon a beloved bestselling franchise, The Wizards of Once will transport and enchant readers.

How did I get the book? BEA review copy

Genre: Fantasy

Review: This is the first Cressida Cowell I’ve read and it won’t be the last because I’ve been meaning to start the How to Train Your Dragon series for the better part of 2 years now and The Wizards of Once reassured me that I’d enjoy it. Admittedly though I didn’t love it. I’m not sure if it’s because I had built my expectations up so high before I began though.

The Wizards of Once is fun. I’m certainly recommending it for world building and characters. Mostly the supporting characters though, I liked Wish and Xar but I liked their “support” menagerie more. Also this is very much a 1 in the series book. The ending is ok but you know you’re going to be in for the long-haul and I prefer stories where I can return if I want to but don’t feel like it’s a must – but that’s me.

The chapters a short and you are a quarter of the way in the book before you know. There a lot of characters but Cressida Cowell manages to make it clear who’s who without long description so you feel part of the adventure. As mentioned I enjoyed the world building and the first book has laid the ground work for really building further so that will be good to see.

I might visit Cressida Cowell first series before I return to Wish & Xar’s adventures but I’m sure I’ll be back soon enough.

Recommend it?

Yes

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “The Wizards of Once by Cressida Cowell

Leave a Reply

