The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

32613366Inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, Angie Thomas’s searing debut about an ordinary girl in extraordinary circumstances addresses issues of racism and police violence with intelligence, heart, and unflinching honesty. Soon to be a major motion picture from Fox 2000/Temple Hill Productions.

Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighbourhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed.

Soon afterward, his death is a national headline. Some are calling him a thug, maybe even a drug dealer and a gangbanger. Protesters are taking to the streets in Khalil’s name. Some cops and the local drug lord try to intimidate Starr and her family. What everyone wants to know is: what really went down that night? And the only person alive who can answer that is Starr.

But what Starr does—or does not—say could upend her community. It could also endanger her life.

How did I get the book? Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Genre: Contemporary

Review: I stayed up late to finish The Hate U Give. It’s the first book this year that I’ve read, no consumed within 2 days, when quite honestly I don’t actually have the time to sit down and read for more than a few minutes (anybody that knows me will realise that for me not to have time to read some serious stuff must be happening because books are my life). But I made the time. Because The Hate U Give just wouldn’t let me go.

I still don’t know how to review this book. I mean I want to shout “READ IT” at everyone and trust me you will not be disappointed. You’ll be amazed and it’ll be emotional but also this will be so good. Yet beyond that I don’t know what words to use.

Starr is amazing. The writing is amazing. The story is… gut-wrenching, unjust and amazing (I think that makes sense) and Angie Thomas I just want to say thank you.

I can rage and weep at the news as I read it, but if we’re brutally honest that is what it is; news. I live in the UK, I’m white and my town is where people come to retire. The only time I’ve seen a gun was when I went on holiday to the US and it freaked me out. Starr’s world (and the reality of where her story comes from) will never be mine.

The Hate U Give is a doorway, for me it unleashed a torrent of emotions and the urge to make people read this book – then promptly come and talk to me about it. Some books stay with you, The Hate U Give is one of those books.

Recommend it?

Sunshine Star

Expected publication: 6th April 2017 by Walker Books

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

