Fave Five Things About Writing by Sara Grant #ChasingDanger Blog Tour

mystery-at-the-ice-hotel

After surviving a kidnapping attempt in the Maldives, Chase and Mackenzie are off to the Ice Hotel in Iceland! What could go wrong there? But as soon as they arrive, accidents start to occur that seem targeted to scare – or worse, seriously hurt – the guests. When a body shows up frozen in an ice bed, it’s up to the two girls to figure out who is behind the attacks …before anyone else gets hurt!

Title: Mystery at the Ice Hotel (Chasing Danger #2)
Author: Sara Grant
Release Date: 6th October 2016
Genre: MG Mystery
Publisher: Scholastic
Format: Paperback
Amazon 

.

Fave Five Things About Writing
by Sara Grant

Thanks for taking a part in the Chasing Danger blog to celebrate the publication of Mystery at the Ice Hotel – the second book in the series!

I’ve always wanted to be a writer and feel blessed to dedicate myself to something I love. It’s certainly a rollercoaster with many highs and loopty loops, but there’s so much I like about being a writer. Here are probably my top five, in no particular order.

  1. Lost in Creation

I spend my days imagining stories into life. I can go anywhere and do anything – at least in my head. What could be better than that? I’m only limited by what I can dream up. It’s always incredibly satisfying to successfully translate what’s in my brain onto the page.

  1. chasing danger cover_finalCo-Create With Readers

A book is meant to be experienced. It only truly comes alive in the minds of readers. No two people read the same book. I write the words on the page, but the readers co-create the story with me.

  1. Continuous Learning

Being a writer gives me the license to be inquisitive. I always want to be learning and trying something new. When I’m writing a book, I can call, email or visit experts, and usually they are happy to answer my questions. I pick topics and setting that interest me. I love to travel, for example, and Chasing Danger has allowed me to visit some amazing places, explore and ask anyone and everyone lots and lots of questions.

  1. Borderless Office

I can do my job anywhere. Who doesn’t love to work at home in her PJs? But I also love to write on the road. I enjoy writing on planes and trains. I often take my computer on holiday so I’ve written on a ship cruising down the Norwegian Fjords, on a deck overlooking a small island in the Maldives, and in a plane jetting across the Atlantic. I sometimes pick a spot on the map that’s about a two-hour train ride from London. I’ll write on the way there. Take a break to sightsee for an hour or two and then write on the way back home.

  1. Meeting Readers

The best thing about writing for children and teens is that you are invited to visit schools and meet your readers. I adore talking to students about creative writing. Kids of all ages and abilities can think up stories – some write them, some draw them, and some tell them. Everyone has a story to tell, and it’s a privilege if I can help them tell it.

 

s6y0egcgSara writes and edits fiction for children and teens. Her new series Chasing Danger is an action-adventure series for tweens. Dark Parties, her first young adult novel, won the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators Crystal Kite Award for Europe. As a freelance editor of series fiction, she has worked on twelve different series and edited nearly 100 books.

Sara was born and raised in Washington, Indiana. She graduated from Indiana University with degrees in journalism and psychology, and later she earned a master’s degree in creative and life writing at Goldsmiths College, University of London. She lives in London. Sara-grant.com

Website
Twitter

 

Tour Schedule

chasing-danger-blog-tour-01Monday 10th October
Bookish Outsider
ArtsMum

Tuesday 11th October
Luna’s Little Library
Rachel Bustin

Wednesday 12th October
Bart’s Bookshelf
Fiction Fascination

Thursday 13th October
Library Girl and Book Boy
Delightful Book Reviews

Friday 14th October
Tales of Yesterday
The Reading Pile

Saturday 15th October
Big Book Little Book
Inspiring Imarah

Sunday 16th October
A Daydreamer’s Thoughts
Bibliobeth

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.