This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

ThisIsWhereItEnds1How did I get the book? Received from author, thank you so much.

Genre: Contemporary

Synopsis: 10:00 a.m.
The principal of Opportunity, Alabama’s high school finishes her speech, welcoming the entire student body to a new semester and encouraging them to excel and achieve.

10:02 a.m.
The students get up to leave the auditorium for their next class.

10:03
The auditorium doors won’t open.

10:05
Someone starts shooting.

Told over the span of 54 harrowing minutes from four different perspectives, terror reigns as one student’s calculated revenge turns into the ultimate game of survival.

Review: I fully anticipated This Is Where It Ends to be good. It’s not – ‘good’ isn’t an adequate description of Marieke Nijkamp debut. Let’s try stunning or amazing. Better words, still not sure if they are enough though.

Here’s a rundown of what happened: I got the book, read, cried, sent a lot of messages and emoticons (mostly hearts, some crying ones), finished reading and curled up in a tight ball. Why am I telling you this? Because it’s clear that This Is Where It Ends will be an emotional read before you start. I had prepared myself for that, what blew me away was just how much of an impact particular moments would have. There are two that just won’t leave me and I can’t tell you which because that would be spoiling.

Giving the in short timeline I’m so impressed by how much Marieke Nijkamp makes you care about four narrators, actually all the characters (one of the most poignant moments for me was about another student). The pacing, back-story and character development is well balanced. Once the students know they’re locked in the auditorium the tension sets in, then the shooting starts and your nerves go to because it might only have been a few pages but you’re already half in love with Autumn, Tomás and the others. That feeling never leaves you. I still can’t stop thinking about those characters (I got sniffly just writing this review) and being able to do that is AMAZING.

This Is Where It Ends is heart-breaking in the best possible way.
Truly a wonderful debut.

Recommend it?

Sunshine Star

Expected publication:
5th January 2016 by Sourcebooks Fire

Follow on Bloglovin

5 thoughts on “This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

  1. I read about this the other day, it sounds brilliant. I can’t believe it’s not out til next year though!! 😦

    Lovely review, I can’t wait to read it now.

  2. Oh my goodness I NEED to pick this up! Actually, I’ve recently been wanting a book that was told over a short amount of time, like a full day or a few hours. This sounds perfect! What are the odds?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.