The Dreamsnatcher by Abi Elphinstone

23573606How did I get the book? Received from Author in exchange for an honest review.

Genre: Adventure / Fantasy

Synopsis:  Twelve-year-old Molly Pecksniff wakes one night in the middle of the forest, lured there by a recurring nightmare – the one with the drums and the rattles and the masks. The Dreamsnatcher is waiting. He has already taken her dreams and now he wants her life. Because Moll is more important than she knows…The Oracle Bones foretold that she and Gryff, a wildcat that has always been by her side, are the only ones who can fight back against the Dreamsnatcher’s dark magic. Suddenly everything is at stake, and Moll is drawn into a world full of secrets, magic and adventure.

200words (or less) review: With my ever growing TBR pile I didn’t think I’d read Abi Elphinstone’s debut prior to publication but much like Moll being called the Dreamsnatch there was something about this book that kept calling me. I just kept picking it up so better read it to find out why.

I loved the world-building and characters. There is this bit towards the end, which I won’t spoil because it’s SO awesome and that would be mean but I was literally happy-clapping while reading it. The clue is ‘tree’. When you reach it you’ll know what I mean. If you weren’t loving Moll’s world before you will be then. It’s so vivid and the description – wonderful!

Moll, Siddy (and of course Porridge the 2nd), Mooshie, Oak… I liked them all. Moll is headstrong, which is a trait I personally love in protagonists but Gryff. Can I have my own Gryff please?

The Dreamsnatcher is a brilliant debut and I can’t wait for the sequel. Seriously I can’t… please don’t make me.

Recommend it?

Sunshine Star

Expected publication:
February 26th 2015 by Simon & Schuster

Abi Elphinstone will be back on the 24th Jan for an Author Interview!

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “The Dreamsnatcher by Abi Elphinstone

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.