Shipwrecked by Siobhan Curham

How did I get the book?  I bought it.

Genre: Contemporary / Adventure

Previously reviewed:  Dear Dylan

Synopsis: I jump at the sound of a whispered voice over my shoulder. But when I turn round all I see is sand, and the towering, green wall of the rainforest. I guess it must have been the breeze, but I can’t help shivering. I have the weirdest feeling that we’re being watched.
Grace Delaney and her fellow dance students are en route to perform on a South Pacific cruise-ship when a freak storm hits and they find themselves stranded on a deserted island. With the tropical heat rising, passions and tensions swell to breaking point. And the island itself is quietly steaming with a terrible secret…

200words (or less) review: The tag line of “Lost meets Gossip Girl” has no impact on me, I’ve never seen Gossip Girl and gave up on Lost after episode 2. I picked this book up for one reason only: Siobhan Curham

Reassuringly Siobhan Curham writing remains brilliant. You just want to read Shipwrecked. As a first book in a series there is a good balance between setting up the next book while having a gripping story for the reader to enjoy this time round. Personally I’m really looking forward to reading what happens next.

I wasn’t as enthralled with the characters as I wanted to be. Grace is a little middle of the road and really no one else stands out. We have the pretty rich mean girl, the scholarship kids, the best perfect friend who isn’t. While I didn’t dislike any of them I didn’t love anyone either and I really wanted to.

When I reached the last page I wanted the next book, ideally that very minute! Because I have to know how this ends.
I think that tells you how captivating the story is. 🙂

Recommend it?

Absolutely

2 thoughts on “Shipwrecked by Siobhan Curham

  1. Pingback: Finding Cherokee Brown by Siobhan Curham | Luna’s Little Library

  2. Pingback: Interview with Siobhan Curham | Luna’s Little Library

Leave a Reply

