Finding Cherokee Brown by Siobhan Curham

chrissi&lunacompare1Finding Cherokee Brown by Siobhan Curham

n431698-1

His lips touched mine and for one split second the whole world stopped.Then every cell in my body fizzed into life . . .

When I decided to write a book about my life I thought I’d have to make loads of stuff up. I mean, who wants to read about someone like me?
But as soon as I started writing, the weirdest thing happened. I found out I wasn’t who I thought I was. And I stopped being scared. Then everything went crazy!
Best of all, I discovered that when you finally decide to be brave it’s like waving a wand over your life – the most magical things can happen . . .

Thoughts before you started reading Finding Cherokee Brown?

CHRISSI: Hmm… another book that Luna has recommended. She’s usually right about awesome writers. So I thought I’d definitely go with reading this one for our compare book.

LUNA: I so adored Dear Dylan by Siobhan Curham and I was pretty certain that this book would be equal in brilliance, so for a change I wasn’t worried my expectations wouldn’t be met. I was pretty certain I’d love this.

What did you think of Cherokee?

CHRISSI:  I don’t often fall in love with characters so quickly, but I did with Cherokee. She’s just such a lovable character. I thought it was easy to identify with her. Siobhan Curham has done such a marvellous job writing her. I really was willing everything to turn out okay for her.

LUNA: While I understand and love characters in books I’ve rarely had an ‘OMG it’s me’ experience. I identify with Cherokee so much, the alien feeling within in your own family isn’t unique to this story but Cherokee has these little personality quirks that are so similar to me. Like the turning left when you don’t know where you’re going. I do that all the time (I have no sense of direction so I do mean All. The. Time.) Or Cherokee changing her appearance in the hope of changing herself? Whenever I need a do-over (like when I’m stressed) my hair suffers for it. I once cut it all off with kitchen scissors or this last week I dyed it bright pink. You probably didn’t need to know that…
Point is for the first time in a very long time I really connected to the main character and consequently felt everything much deeper.

Best bit?

CHRISSI:   It’s so hard to pinpoint a best bit about this book because so much was brilliant. I just loved the characters. I loved Cherokee and her dad the most.

LUNA: So much: the writing, Cherokee, the character profiles are so brilliant, etc, etc. I guess an actual moment is the graffiti from Harrison. I loved that, I really did.

Worst bit?

CHRISSI:   What do you mean worst bit?! It was all wonderful! No, if I’m attempting to be balanced then I would say that some of the interactions between Cherokee and her mother were a bit irritating, only because I wanted her mum to shut up and let Cherokee be happy. Although as Luna also says, Cherokee’s mum had her reasons. I think you just end up rooting for her so much you don’t want anything to stand in her way.

LUNA: Not worst as in bad but more of an emotional ARGH moment. At the very beginning of the book when Cherokee finds out about Steve and has an argument about it with her mother. I was so frustrated that her mother wouldn’t listen but just decided that she was right and Cherokee should just accept that. Those “I’m the adult” moments really annoy me.

The thing is that Cherokee’s mum had a point and her reasons weren’t wrong but it took a long time for me to appreciate that and actually sympathise with her because of that argument.

Favourite character / moment?

CHRISSI:  I really loved Cherokee and her dad was pretty awesome too.

LUNA: Well Cherokee obviously because she is me, only way cooler and less damaged.

Was Finding Cherokee Brown what you expected?

CHRISSI: It was pretty damn amazing!

LUNA: It was BETTER!

Would you recommend it?

CHRISSI:  Definitely. I’m going to read Dear Dylan soon! Siobhan Curham, you have a new fan!

LUNA: Yes, Ja, Si, Oui, Da, Hai – you get the point. 😉
Pretty much loved the whole book.

Previously reviewed by Luna:
Shipwrecked
Dear Dylan

One thought on “Finding Cherokee Brown by Siobhan Curham

  1. Pingback: Interview with Siobhan Curham | Luna’s Little Library

Leave a Reply

