Lovesickness: Junji Ito Story Collection

Lovesickness: Junji Ito Story CollectionLovesickness: Junji Ito Story Collection by Junji Ito
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Thank you VIZ/Netgalley

The stories in Lovesickness all take place in a town where people ask for fortunes at crossroads. The first part of the story is focused on Ryusuke, who has moved back with his parents. The crossroads custom is escalating and recently there has been a suicide. A “beautiful” boy has been telling fortunes and those who have received them are consumed. Each new chapter has a story but then link together and these stories build and build. The first part of the books ends dramatically but that is not the conclusion of the hauntings of the town.

In part two the stories focus on residents instead of having Ryusuke at the centre. Having now had the time to think about my review I prefer the individual stories in Lovesickness. Some were more effective than others, but all had a way of getting under the readers skin in their own way.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.