Luna’s Manga Reviews #9

 

Moriarty the Patriot, Vol. 2 by Ryōsuke Takeuchi, Hikaru Miyoshi (Illustrations), Arthur Conan Doyle (Idea)

The untold story of Sherlock Holmes’ greatest rival, Moriarty!

Before he was Sherlock’s rival, Moriarty fought against the unfair class caste system in London by making sure corrupt nobility got their comeuppance. But even the best-intentioned plans can spin out of control—will Moriarty’s dream of a more just and equal world turn him into a hero…or a monster?

After successfully establishing a foothold in Durham and cleansing the city of some of its corruption, William James Moriarty sets his sights on London. To make headway there, he needs the aid of his brother Albert. But while on his way to London, Moriarty is kidnapped by a gang of criminals! He needs Albert sooner than he thought, but will Albert be able to save him in time?

Publisher: Thank you VIZ Media LLC for the review copy

Previously Reviewed: Moriarty the Patriot, Vol. 1

Review: I am totally onboard with this series and hope that as the books continue the story development doesn’t falter. In volume two Moriarty and Sherlock meet, and the beginnings of their cat and mouse game are put in place. While we have all the players, Moriarty, Sherlock and Watson in place for book 3 the story is not following the path I thought it would.

In this book we have one story that addresses the conflict of sacrificing one for many.  While the merits are discussed and Moriarty’s companions state how they would give their own life for this cause that they are all working towards the reader has to grapple with the fact that the life given was not volunteered.

Moriarty has always been portrayed as the evil to Sherlocks good. Yet both are flawed characters. The first book showed Moriarty is a different light, seeking justice for others. This book sets up what I think will be the tightrope walk of the stories to come. Many things will be done with the conviction of “doing the right thing” but the repercussion are what will linger.

I’m excited for the next book.

 

Whisper Me a Love Song by Eku Takeshima

An adorable new yuri manga for fans of Kase-san and Yamada and Bloom Into You. One day, high school girl Himari sees a girl, Yori, sing in a band, and it awakens feelings she doesn’t understand… but Yori does!

Bubbly, energetic first-year high school student Himari falls head over heels for her senpai Yori after hearing her band perform on the first day of school. Himari tells Yori she just loves her, and, to Himari’s surprise, Yori says she loves Himari back! But when Himari realizes that she and her senpai are feeling two different kinds of love, she begins to ask herself what “love” really means…

Publisher: Thank you Kodansha Comics for the review copy

Review: Whisper Me a Love Song was surprising, the ending of the first book has left me very much wanting to read what happens between Yori and Himari, yet when I started I will admit I was somewhat dismissive of this story.

Don’t misunderstand, this manga begins as a cute story and I very much wanted cute when I requested this for review (thank you Netgalley). I wasn’t expecting there to be a heartstring-tug though. Himari is the adorable first year who falls for Yori at opening day concert. She later sees Yori and tells her she “just loves her”.

From here we have Himari, full of adoration for Yori and Yori who is unsure, because she likes, maybe even loves Himari – but romantically not in the way Himari sees her. The first volume sets the characters and story up, leaving you with a last chapter that has you wanting the next book to find out how this continues.

Also, the artwork is adorable. 🙂

 

The King’s Beast, Vol. 1 by Rei Toma

A smoldering tale of romance and revenge set in the world of the New York Times best seller Dawn of the Arcana!

Legend says that a sacred beast appears in the time of a great king…

Ajin are people who bear the attributes of beasts, and in this kingdom they are forced to serve men in the military and women in the brothels. The Ajin boys who show signs of special abilities are conscripted to serve in the imperial palace as beast servants—status symbols and shields for their royal masters, to be kept or discarded on a whim. When Rangetsu’s twin brother Sogetsu showed signs of such abilities, he was ripped from her arms and given to Prince Tenyou as a beast servant, where he quickly fell victim to bloody royal intrigues. Now in a world that promises only bitterness, Rangetsu’s one hope is to disguise herself as a man and find a way into the palace to avenge her brother!

But Prince Tenyou is not what Rangetsu expected, and the political currents in the palace run deep and strange. Does Rangetsu have any chance of finding justice for her brother, or will she become just another Ajin casualty in the game of kings?

Publisher: Thank you VIZ Media LLC for the review copy

Review: This year has definitely been the year of picking up more Manga’s and seeing what stories there are. I have not read Dawn of the Arcana! So can not compare how Rei Toma previous title compares. What drew me in for The King’s Beast was the synopsis and the art style. I really liked the clear lines and that the panels aren’t overcrowded.

I haven’t quite made up my mind about this the story yet, a lot of book one sets up the story and history of how Rangetsu ended up taking her twin-brother’s place as Prince Tenyou beast servant. As the story set up is more thorough, I think it’s really the next instalment that will be the verdict, however this volume has a lot of promise as to how this story could build.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.