Perfectly Norman by Tom Percival

Norman had always been perfectly normal. That was until the day he grew a pair of wings!

Norman is very surprised to have wings suddenly – and he has the most fun ever trying them out high in the sky. But then he has to go in for dinner. What will his parents think? What will everyone else think? Norman feels the safest plan is to cover his wings with a big coat.

But hiding the thing that makes you different proves tricky and upsetting. Can Norman ever truly be himself?

A poignant yet uplifting story about individuality, with stunning artwork in a striking minimal palette from the author/illustrator of Herman’s Letter. Fans of Oliver Jeffers and Benj Davies will love it.

 

Title: Perfectly Norman
Author & Illustrator: Tom Percival
Release Date: 10th August 2017
Genre: Picture Books
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Format: Paperback
Goodreads …….. Amazon

How did I get the book? Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review: The idea of growing a pair of wings and flying off sounds ideal to me. However after a wonderful first adventure in the skies Norman is overcome by worry and hides is wings. Why? Wings aren’t “normal” and what will his parents think? Or his friends? Or strangers?

Visually this book is lovely, Norman is the only character displayed in colour expect for the end. So he stands out, regardless of the fact that he doesn’t want to. The wings are multi-coloured and lovely, it’s sad when they are hidden beneath the coat. Both of these things reinforce the narration of the story. Norman is unique and that’s just perfect.

I really liked the message of this story. The wings can be a metaphor for all sorts of things – apply at will. The point is that Norman feels different and alone but realises he’s perfectly fine there way he is. And at the end it turns out that there are plenty of other children that are unique in their own way so he isn’t really alone at all.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

Tom Percival writes and illustrates picture books and has also produced covers and internal illustrations for the Skulduggery Pleasant series. Tom has written and illustrated three books for Bloomsbury: HERMAN’S LETTER, BUBBLE TROUBLE and the forthcoming HERMAN’S HOLIDAY.

He grew up in a remote and beautiful part of South Shropshire. He now lives in a far more conventional building (a house), with his girlfriend and their young sons.

Website
@TomPercivalsays


Follow on Bloglovin

Monday 7th August
A Little But A Lot
Live Otherwise

Tuesday 8th August
Acorn Books
Library Girl and Book Boy

Wednesday 9th August
Get Kids Into Books
OBC Mini Reviewers

Thursday 10th August
Rhino Reads
The Writing Garnet

Friday 11th August
Tales of Yesterday
Chouett

Saturday 12th August
Luna’s Little Library
Wonderfully Bookish

Sunday 13th August
Mum Friendly
Kirstyes

 

Advertisements

One thought on “Perfectly Norman by Tom Percival

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s