Geekerella by Ashley Poston

Anything can happen once upon a con…

When geek girl Elle Wittimer sees a cosplay contest sponsored by the producers of Starfield, she has to enter. First prize is an invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. Elle’s been scraping together tips from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck behind her stepmother’s back, and winning this contest could be her ticket out once and for all—not to mention a fangirl’s dream come true.

Teen actor Darien Freeman is less than thrilled about this year’s ExcelsiCon. He used to live for conventions, but now they’re nothing but jaw-aching photo sessions and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Federation Prince Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but the diehard Starfield fandom has already dismissed him as just another heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, closet nerd Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise.

How did I get the book? I bought it.

Genre: Contemporary

Review: In the year that I have struggled to find time to read, this is only the second book of 2017 I’ve completed in one sitting. I stayed up late to finish it. So worth it! It’s the only book I went out and bought, then sneaked past my designated review pile (don’t tell) because I’m a sucker for retellings and this sounded like perfection. It was. Geekerella felt like it was written just for me.

I’ve discovered I’m very much a character reader, while I can appreciate good storytelling if the characters aren’t rounded or I don’t connect, I struggle with the story. Elle wasn’t just a like or empathy appreciation – Elle was a click. I left Geekerella elated for the story, ending but also sad because Elle is gone.

Geekerella is the perfect combination of fandom appreciation. It shows how loving something (like a TV show) can be consuming in the best way. How much you can get from it. There are little gems/nods non-Starfield fandoms throughout the story. It has the best pumpkin carriage ever. Two romance stories, one for the “fairy godmother” who btw is all kinds of brilliant.

Ashley Poston gave me all the things I love; fairy-tales and fandoms in one. I’m a little gutted I won’t ever get to tell her in person what that means.

P.S.
Dahlia Adler, this is your fault again.
Thank you. ♥

Recommend it?

Sunshine Star

Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “Geekerella by Ashley Poston

  1. This is one on my TBR – primarily because it’s a retelling, I blaming Heartless for making me a little obsessed with them at the moment. I think I might have to move it further up my to buy list

Leave a Reply

