Stargazing For Beginners by Jenny McLachlan

Science geek Meg is left to look after her little sister for ten days after her free-spirited mum leaves suddenly to follow up yet another of her Big Important Causes. But while Meg may understand how the universe was formed, baby Elsa is a complete mystery to her.

And Mum’s disappearance has come at the worst time: Meg is desperate to win a competition to get the chance to visit NASA headquarters, but to do this she has to beat close rival Ed. Can Meg pull off this double life of caring for Elsa and following her own dreams? She’ll need a miracle of cosmic proportions…

How did I get the book?
Received from publisher/author in exchange for an honest review.

Genre: Contemporary

Previously reviewed:
Flirty Dancing (The Ladybirds #1)
Love Bomb (The Ladybirds #2)
Sunkissed (The Ladybirds #3)
Star Struck (The Ladybirds #4)

Review: I love Jenny McLachlan. Once of her books lands in my hands and I’m in my happy place. Stargazing For Beginners isn’t an exception to this because just like all the other main characters Jenny introduced me to I adored Meg from the first chapter.

Admittedly though there were stumbling blocks. I was a young carer at 12, never mind anything else, emotionally it’s beyond draining. I can’t accept Meg’s mother actions or her grandfather’s being ok with leaving Meg to manage. Not in a family that supposedly loves each other.

The humour and characters are pure Jenny McLachlan. You have scenes that just read like a movie you want to go see and then go back and see again, and as I’ve said Meg is wonderful.

Stargazing For Beginners reassured me that Jenny McLachlan isn’t going anywhere and I will be looking forward to whichever story she writes next with eager anticipation.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

What writing STARGAZING FOR BEGINNERS taught me
by Jenny McLachlan

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

