A Day in the Life of Angie Stanton – #WakinginTime Blog Tour

angie-stanton-photoAmerican author Angie Stanton is a life-long daydreamer who grew up with her hands on a book and her head in the clouds. As an adult she’s learned to put her talent to good use and writes contemporary fiction about life, love, and the adventures that follow. She is the best selling author of eight novels including Rock and a Hard Place, and Love ’em or Leave ’em.

Angie has a Journalism degree from the University of Wisconsin. In her spare time, she sneaks off to New York City to enjoy the best entertainment experience on earth, Broadway. She is currently working on a series of Broadwaythemed books, and is also a contributing editor to BroadwayWorld.com.

@angie_stanton
www.angiestanton.com

.

A Day in the Life
by Angie Stanton

If your daily work grind is a commute to an office, cubicle, or cashier stand, being a writer working from home probably sounds pretty good. Today I’d like to give you a peek behind the veiled curtain, or in my case the venetian blinds, to how a typical day goes.

Since I’ve been writing for a while now, I’ve definitely learned to set daily goals. They aren’t as concrete as a specific word count, however sometimes that’s true; mostly it’s to work on a certain scene or section of a manuscript, work through changes for my editor, or catch up on the business end of things.

Every morning after watching Good Morning America with a hot mug of chai in my hands, I settle up to my kitchen island with my Green Bay Packers blanket and prop my feet up on the stool next to me. This allows me a perfect view of the trees and flower garden in my yard. I have a gorgeous oak desk in my office, but that’s where I take care of business things, not creative. I know many writers who prefer to write from a coffee shop, but that rarely works for me. Plus, I don’t drink coffee!

Today I’ve lit a cinnamon-scented candle left over from Christmas. It’s flickering joyfully as are the twinkle lights above my kitchen cupboard. It’s overcast and gray outside, the drudgery of winter is hanging on, so anything to establish a cozy ambiance, since my work is all about creating setting, characters and story, helps. My dog lounges nearby on her pillow, and my iPod plays at my side, the familiar playlist urging me into a tranquil workspace. There’s nothing like the right piece of music to inspire a character, a scene, and sometimes even more.

The phone rings twice, but both are sales calls so I ignore them, but it did get me out of my chair to walk across the room. Yay, exercise! I settle back in my seat, reviewing what I’ve written the day before. This helps nudge me further into the zone. I tweak a couple spots and continue on.

My dog’s shrill bark breaks my concentration as a squirrel scampers past the window. I grumble and set my mind back to my fictional world. Then I look down and realize that not only am I still wearing pajamas at two in the afternoon, but my flannel bottoms are on inside out. I’m serious. Oh, and I haven’t run a brush through my hair or bothered with makeup. Why? It’s just me and the dog in my candle-lit oasis until my husband crashes in at five.

I’m on the fringes of finding that sweet creative place again, and now a song from Brittania High comes on and my attention is pulled again. I’m pretty sure I’m the only American who knows about that show, but it has a song that inspired an entire book.

When I finally find my zone, I can sit in one place and type at lightening speed, accomplishing great things. But more often, I find myself hopping up and down because I’m a little cold, need another Diet Coke, or it’s time to change the laundry. Squirrel! I’m as bad as my dog.

Some days I find myself desperate for human connections and conversation. Day after day working solo with no one but the canine to talk to gets lonely, but on the other hand, I don’t have the stresses of an office environment, the mundane staff meetings, or annoying dress code.

At five o’clock when my husband busts in, disrupting my euphoric writer place, I sigh. He’s chatty, so I let go of the story line I’ve worked so hard to get into and say goodbye to my beloved characters who have become my sole companions until tomorrow.

 

waking-in-time-uk-cover-final

Still mourning the loss of her beloved grandmother and shaken by her mysterious, dying request to find the baby, Abbi has just arrived at UW Madison for her freshman year. But on her second day, she wakes up to a different world: 1983. That is just the first stop on Abbi s journey backward through time. Will is a charming college freshman from 1927 who travels forward through time. When Abbi and Will meet in the middle, love adds another complication to their lives.

Communicating across time through a buried time capsule, they try to decode the mystery of their travel, find the lost baby, and plead with their champion, a kindly physics professor, to help them find each other again… even though the professor gets younger each time Abbi meets him. This page-turning story full of romance, twists, and delightful details about campus life then and now will stay with readers long after the book s satisfying end.

Waking In Time by Angie Stanton publishes:

  • In the UK by Curious Fox on 9th March 2017, priced £7.99, ISBN: 978-1-78202-593-1
  • In the US by Switch Press on 1st March 2017, priced $17.95, ISBN: 978-1630790707

 

wakingintimeblogtourbanner

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

