Wing Jones – The #WJphototour!

25909375

With a grandmother from China and another from Ghana, fifteen-year-old Wing is often caught between worlds. But when tragedy strikes, Wing discovers a talent for running she never knew she had. Wing’s speed could bring her family everything it needs. It could also stop Wing getting the one thing she wants…

Throughout January, over 40 bloggers will be participating in the #WJphototour – a photo blog tour documenting Katherine’s path to publishing her debut novel.

From childhood memories that inspired her writing to her time living in Atlanta and Asia that influenced the book to authors she’s met over the years right up to receiving her first finished copy of the book, follow along to see Katherine’s author life unfold! Keep an eye on the hashtag to see the latest photos!

.

#WJphototour

Photo 25

25_kw

“After three wonderful years in Hong Kong, Kevin and I moved to London! He was able to transfer with his job, but I wanted something completely different.

I quit the job I had in Hong Kong (technology sales) and made it my mission to get a job in books. What better place to do that than in London? Little did I know just how competitive it would be! I applied to SO many publishing jobs and got rejection after rejection after rejection. This was also when I was querying agents with my Bhutan inspired fantasy, so not only was I getting job rejections I was getting agent rejections. It was really hard to stay positive and stay motivated, but I pushed through it. I gave myself a 6 month window to get a job in books, and if I didn’t, I’d go back to technology sales.

Imagine how excited I was when I was offered a 3 month contract at the reading charity BookTrust! That 3 month contract turned into six months, a year, and then permanent. Working at BookTrust gave me incredible insight into the publishing industry, and most importantly helped me meet great bookish people!”

 

Katherine Webber was born in Southern California but has lived in Atlanta, Hawaii, Hong Kong and now in London. For several years she worked at the reading charity BookTrust, where she worked on projects such as The Letterbox Club which delivers parcels of books to children in care, and YALC, the Young Adult Literature Convention.

You can find her on Twitter @kwebberwrites

 

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

