Maybe a Fox by Kathi Appelt & Alison McGhee

31581480Sylvie and Jules, Jules and Sylvie. Better than just sisters, better than best friends. Jules’ favourite thing is collecting rocks, and Sylvie’s is running – fast. But Sylvie is too fast, and when she runs to the most dangerous part of the river one snowy morning to throw in a wish rock, she is so fast that no one sees what happens when she disappears. At that very moment, in another part of the woods, a shadow fox is born: half of the spirit world, half of the animal world. She, too, is fast, and she senses danger. When Jules goes to throw one last wish rock into the river for her lost sister, the human and shadow worlds collide with unexpected consequences.

Written in alternate voices – one Jules, the other the fox – this searingly beautiful tale tells of one small family’s moment of heartbreak as it unfolds into something epic, mythic, shimmering and, most of all, hopeful.

How did I get the book? Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review

Genre: Fantasy

Review: I started this book and just became lost… It’s a story that breaks the reader and then slowly puts you back together in a new way. Adding a little magic that, when you reach the conclusion, stays with you. I loved how at the end of the book I just wanted to hug the pages because I felt like I’d made a friend.

Really connecting to characters is special and Jules became my centre as I was reading. Between her and the wonderful writing I was deep into the story and didn’t want to put it down.

I’m tempted to talk about each character and how their individual stories impacted my reading experience but I really don’t want to spoil anything about this book.

Maybe a Fox is partly magical, some of it because of the Kennen but mostly because of the story and writing.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

