Phoebe and Her Unicorn (Heavenly Nostrils Volumes 1 – 4) by Dana Simpson

It all started when Phoebe skipped a rock across a pond and accidentally hit a unicorn in the face. Improbably, this led to Phoebe being granted one wish, and she used it to make the unicorn, Marigold Heavenly Nostrils, her obligational best friend. But can a vain mythical beast and a nine-year-old daydreamer really forge a connection? Indeed they can, and that’s how Phoebe and Her Unicorn unfolds.

This beautifully drawn strip follows the unlikely friendship between a somewhat awkward girl and the unicorn who gradually shows her just how special she really is. Through hilarious adventures where Phoebe gets to bask in Marigold’s “awesomeness,” the friends also come to acknowledge that they had been lonely before they met and truly appreciate the bond they now share.

How did I get the book? I bought them.

Genre: Graphic Novels / Comic

Review: So this thing with me and unicorns… it kinda started as a joke which has now become a “thing”. As in unicorn related paraphernalia will end up with me, due to friends making this connection, which is ok because unicorns are awesome and who doesn’t secretly want to be one? Or in lieu of that have a unicorn friend?

Hence coming across Phoebe and Her Unicorn was sorted like being handed THE thing.
I read the first three volumes in one sitting (because I only had them and had to order the fourth) and loved each one – particularly the first 2. It’s completely me. The humour, Phoebe, her parents, the humour (oh I said that already) and of course Marigold and the friendship between Phoebe and her unicorn.

phoebe-and-her-unicorn-snow

I’ve only had these books for a short while but I will randomly pick them back up again to re-read a couple of pages just to have a little chuckle. Things like Phoebe’s parent’s checking their insurance policy to see if it covers unicorn hole-punctures in walls or if Marigold counts as a vehicle in a fast food drive thru.

Phoebe and Her Unicorn was the comic I didn’t know I needed but am so happy I have.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

