Super Awkward by Beth Garrod

29554546I, Bella Fisher, am absolutely WINNING at FAILING at life.

1. I once got my tongue stuck to a box of Calippos in a supermarket.
2. I accidentally called my geography teacher Mum. Twice. He wasn’t impressed.
3. I’m a geek. And not in a geek-chic kind of way, but in a secretly-caring-about-failing-maths-and-science way.
4. I always fail maths and science.

So it figures that when I meet the FITTEST BOY IN THE WORLD, Zac, I’m doing solo star jumps. While dressed as a cereal box.
(NOTE TO SELF, fancy dress = HE-WILL-NEVER-EVER-FANCY-ME dress.)

Now I’ve got to somehow persuade Zac to come to prom with me while avoiding my evil ex and dealing with a secret so mega-awks I want to Ctrl-Z my brain… What could go wrong?
Oh yeah, that’s right. Absolutely everything.

How did I get the book? Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review

Genre: Contemporary

Review: I’m pretty sure Super Awkward is going to make it onto the permanent list of books I recommend. Already loosing count on how many people I’ve told they need to read Super Awkward, and it’s only been a short while.

Bella Fisher is a relatable narrator who made me laugh, giggle and actually side-stich loose it on more than one occasion. I’m just leaving the clue: classroom / art / desk.

If Super Awkward wasn’t written so well and Bella not the character she is, then this book would have a real danger of being slapstick without any emotional centre. As it is, Beth Garrod has managed to make Bella someone you care about. So while some moments might seem a little ridiculous, because it’s Bella, you completely believe this is happening.

Basically, Super Awkward is the book you pick up when you need some laughter in your day.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

