American Monsters (Demon Road #3) by Derek Landy

29564630.

Bigger, meaner, stronger.

Amber closes in on her murderous parents as they make one last desperate play for power. Her own last hopes of salvation, however, rest beyond vengeance, beyond the abominable killers – living and dead – that she and Milo will have to face.

For Amber’s future lies in her family’s past, in the brother and sister she never knew, and the horrors beyond imagining that befell them.

.

.

.

How did I get the book? Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review

Previously reviewed:
Demon Road (Demon Road #1)
Desolation (Demon Road #2)

Genre: Horror (incl LGBTQIA)

Review: I honestly can’t remember when I’ve last read a trilogy (or series) of books so close together. The only reason I didn’t read the whole Demon Road trilogy in one go was because American Monsters wasn’t published when I started Demon Road.

So what’s the conclusion like? Well I preferred American Monsters to Desolation. The focus of the story has returned to Amber, the narration not shifting to other characters. For me, I think this works better. Amber’s character has grown a lot since Demon Road and in this book the demon-side vs human-side struggles are centre stage. Another plus for American Monsters is that one of my favourite characters returns to take more of a prominent role.

If you haven’t read the previous two books then I think you’d struggle to follow American Monsters. Plus I really recommend Demon Road, it’s one of my favourite reads this year and such a good series opener.

I enjoyed American Monsters and think it’s a good conclusion to the trilogy. It has some pretty great highlights, twists, characters you’ve grown to care about and just when you think it’s over. . .

Recommend it?

Absolutely

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

