This Is Where It Ends #everymomentcounts – Update

On the 15 June 2016 the #everymomentcounts challenge began.
It’s all about MAKING THIS SUMMER COUNT by creating as many “moments” as possible in 54 days (15th June to 7th August), and sharing your progress along the way.

There are plenty of ideas to be found via the link here: http://ow.ly/2tSm300CdlC

    • Smiling at every person you see that day
    • Read a book that you wouldn’t normally pick up (that will not be a challenge!)
    • Go outside and take time to enjoy your surroundings.
    • Sending a card or letter to somebody
    • Buy a small gift for a friend just because. (I’m more of the “make a gift”)

plus so many more

 

#everymomentcounts ………….. #thisiswhereitends

I thought I’d post a little update as I haven’t been tweeting as much as I’d like. Partly this is because I wasn’t sure how to measure some of my ‘moments’ in a tweet and also because June hasn’t been the month I hoped. The last couple of weeks in particular have been difficult but I have many wonderful things to look forward to in July so I to share them with you then.  🙂

So what happened in June?

Witch Wood

Witch Wood

  • Letters with little handmade gifts found their way to friends (these a personal and tweeting about sending them felt weird)
  • I got my haircut by a student at a salon, he was lovely and I think I’ll be going back to let him test his colouring skills at some point. I wanted to take a photo – but I got soaked through in the rain afterwards so that didn’t word out. :/
  • Instead of keeping the change from my morning cup of tea, I’ve been donating it to the North West Air Ambulance Charity (link) collection in our canteen at work
  • When the weather has been good I’ve been walking most of the way home, which takes me through Witch Wood.
  • I booked tickets to attend YALC without my besties (sadly they can’t make it), which slightly terrifies me
  • Set up an Instagram account (link), which I hadn’t planned on. But the #everymomentcounts challenge inspired me & hopefully this will work out.
  • I confessed something personal to another blogger because they inspired me. I don’t think I’m brave enough to share it with the world yet. Maybe soon…

Then there were little things. Like getting drinks, swapping shifts at work, etc. I’m not sure how to count or tweet those. I’m also not sure how to make them unique or separate from what I usually do.

And  most importantly, there was a little bit of support I managed to offer for Fox Benwell. Author, amazing friend and all round wonderful person. I hope to do more and I’ll start by sharing Fox’s GoFundMe page below. Take a moment and check it out.

click to visit Fox's gofundmepage

click to visit Fox’s gofundmepage

 

tiwie10

Marieke Nijkamp was born and raised in the Netherlands. A lifelong student of stories, language, and ideas, she is more or less proficient in about a dozen languages and holds degrees in philosophy, history, and medieval studies. She is a storyteller, dreamer, globe-trotter, geek. Her debut young adult novel This Is Where It Ends, a contemporary story that follows four teens over the course of the fifty-four minutes of a school shooting, will be published by Sourcebooks Fire in January 2016.

She is the founder of DiversifYA and a senior VP of We Need Diverse Books. Find her on Twitter.

.
.
.

 

untitled

10:00 a.m.
The principal of Opportunity, Alabama’s high school finishes her speech, welcoming the entire student body to a new semester and encouraging them to excel and achieve.

10:02 a.m.
The students get up to leave the auditorium for their next class.

10:03
The auditorium doors won’t open.

10:05
Someone starts shooting.

Told over the span of 54 harrowing minutes from four different perspectives, terror reigns as one student’s calculated revenge turns into the ultimate game of survival.

.
Buy This Is Where It Ends here:

Amazon.co.uk …………. Amazon.com ………… Book Depository

.

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

