COVER GIRLS – (PART 2) The #MUMNESIA Blog Tour

Today on the MUMNESIA Blog Tour it’s

COVER GIRLS – PART 2!
by Katie Dale & Lilly Lazuli

Can you judge a book by its cover?
What makes a good book cover?
Katie Dale asks Lilly Lazuli (the talented artist behind the beautiful cover for MUMNESIA!) all about it!

(and don’t forget the GOODY-BAG GIVEAWAY – question at the bottom of the post!)

Hi Lilly! Thank you so much for agreeing to be interviewed for my MUMNESIA blogtour! And thanks for creating such a fantastic cover!
Hi Katie, it’s my pleasure! I am so happy you asked me to be a part of your blog tour.

What do you say to people who say you can’t judge a book by its cover?
I think an effective cover tells you a lot about the book, illustration is all about visual storytelling and communication so a cover can tell you what age range a book is for, what genre and time period it evokes. There are so many books out there that a cover can grab your attention and help you to quickly narrow your search.

What makes a great book cover?
A great cover is beautiful and honest. What I mean by that is you can make a stunning cover but if it doesn’t relate or connect to the story within than it really isn’t fulfilling its purpose.

nooks-crannies-9781481419222_lgWhat’s one of your all-time favourite book covers and why?
Ask me something easy why don’t you! I love the cover of Nooks & Crannies by Jessica Lawson illustrated by Natalie Andrewson. I think it’s fun and has an interesting and mysterious composition! Plus Natalie is a great friend and super talented lady.

They say a picture tells a thousand words, but how do you illustrate an entire book with just one image? Where do you start? What’s the process? Do you usually read the book before illustrating the cover?
Generally when I work on a cover the story is still being written but I am given a synopsis and that helps give me an outline to work with. For Mumnesia I played around with a few different ideas but settled on one that showed Lucy weighing up her feelings about her mum’s sudden personality switch.  I think with a cover you want it to be fun and engaging and to give you some context for the story without giving everything away.

How long does it take to illustrate a cover?
It all depends, every project is different and each publisher works differently. I’ve had some covers that are done in two weeks and others that take 6 months but the actual drawing takes about 2 days. There is a full process of sending sketches then colour roughs then onto the final. In between all these stages there can be changes and usually each step has a week or two in between because the publishers generally have cover meetings once a week.

Lilly, tell us a little bit about how you came to be an artist/illustrator – was it something you grew up dreaming of doing since you were young?
I’ve always loved drawing, in fact an artist is the only thing I ever wanted to be! I made my first picture book when I was 6, I made it with my mum and I was really excited because we found this velvet paper for the cover.  I’ve always loved coming up with stories, dreaming up my own worlds and expressing myself through drawing.

That’s so cute! So what does a day in the life of an artist/illustrator look like now?
Make a nice coffee, do some research to find inspiration at a bookshop, museum or… mostly look online at places like Pinterest. Then I get sketching and if I’m happy with the sketch I’ll scan it and work digitally on top.

What are your favourite and least favourite things about the job?

  • Least favourite – Like a lot of creative pursuits it is generally feast or famine, either you have a lot of work at once or a big gap of not much coming in and the uncertainty is hard.
  • Favourite – You get to do what you love and share it with an audience. It feels really good to put something beautiful in the world.

What is your favourite piece of art that you’ve made?
I really like my ‘Cat Dance’ piece. It was a changing point in my art style and to this day is a good representation of what I love: movement, fun characters and vibrant colours!

lilly cat

What advice would you give to any young people who would like to become an artist/illustrator?
The most important thing is to keep drawing. The more you draw the more you improve and the faster you’ll get. Talent (in my opinion) is mostly a myth, if you look at the best artists often they are the hardest working!

Thanks Lilly!
Thanks Katie, you have been so warm and friendly it has been so fun working on this project.

If you missed Cover Girls Part 1 – check it out over at Girls Heart Books!

.

.

Don’t forget to enter the MUMNESIA GOODY-BAG PRIZE DRAW!

Mumnesia goody bag

To enter (UK only) simply answer the question:
HOW OLD WAS LILLY WHEN SHE MADE HER FIRST PICTURE BOOK WITH HER MUM?

Email your answer to katiedaleauthor@hotmail.com

(p.s. there’s a special bonus draw and prize for those who answer all eight questions correctly  – so why not join me next time on the blogtour?)

Good luck!

.

.

4632961.
Katie Dale loves nothing more than creating characters – both on page and onstage.

 

She studied English literature at Sheffield University and spent a year at the University of North Carolina. In 2008 she won the SCBWI Undiscovered Voices competition.

 

www.katiedaleuk.blogspot.com
@katiedaleuk

.

.

.

 

A bit more about MUMNESIA!

Lilly Mumnesia composition

Lucy’s mum is so out of date she’s practically mouldy! She’s super-strict, overprotective and Lucy can’t believe she was EVER a teenager . . . until the morning her mum wakes up with no memory of the last thirty years – and thinks she’s a twelve year old time-travelling from the 1980s!
All Lucy wants is for her mum to go back to being her old self – but how?

“You’ll laugh, you’ll cringe, you’ll never look at your mum in quite the same way again…” – Joanna Nadin, author of THE RACHEL RILEY DIARIES

“Mum minus memory = a whole lot of FUN!” – Tamsyn Murray, author of the COMPLETELY CASSIDY series

“Fast and funny; a Freaky Friday for the twenty-first century!”  Jo Cotterill, author of the SWEET HEARTS series and A LIBRARY OF LEMONS

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “COVER GIRLS – (PART 2) The #MUMNESIA Blog Tour

  1. Pingback: Mumnesia! by Katie Dale |

Leave a Reply

