The Moonlight Dreamers by Siobhan Curham

chrissi&lunacompare1

.

The Moonlight Dreamers by Siobhan Curham

26198206

A inspirational, heart-warming book about four girls trying to find their place in the world. Siobhan Curham celebrates very different but like-minded friends in this captivating novel.

Amber craves excitement and adventure. Instead, she’s being bullied at school for having two dads, and life at home isn’t much better. Inspired by Oscar Wilde, Amber realizes that among the millions of people in London, there must be others who feel the same as she does; other dreamers – moonlight dreamers. After chance encounters with Maali, Sky and Rose, Amber soon recruits the three girls to the Moonlight Dreamers. It’s high time they started pursuing their dreams, and how better than with the support of friends?

Many thanks to Walker Books for providing review copies.

.

Thoughts before you started reading The Moonlight Dreamers?

CHRISSI: Excited. It’s Siobhan Curham. I adore her writing.

LUNA: Very excited.

What did you think of Amber, Maali, Sky & Rose?

CHRISSI: I thought all of the girls were fantastic characters that readers will find incredibly relatable. The characters are well developed and interesting to follow.

LUNA: Because each girl is different I think each reader will find a connection one character, probably more than one. I know that each one of them had moments that spoke to me.
I actually thought it would be Amber that would be “my” character, but it turned out to be Maali. This surprised me but while her dream was not something I would have picked but Maali’s uncertainty I could definitely connect with.

Best bit?

CHRISSI: How ‘real’ the characters were. They were flawed, that’s for sure, but that’s what makes a story realistic. No-one is perfect. I love the messages Siobhan Curham always portrays in her stories.

LUNA: I enjoyed the turning points, especially the one for Sky and Rose (I’m not going to give anything away). Another thing I liked about the The Moonlight Dreamers is that all the girls are very convincing, there were a couple of moments were I thought “ugh brat” or “why are you doing that” and “please no”. But it’s what made the book more real.

Worst bit?

CHRISSI: I can’t really pinpoint a worst bit if I’m honest!

LUNA: The German Tourists. It’s not even a whole page out of the book. But you know that thing where you can make fun of your family/friends but if anyone else does it you’ll defend with teeth and claws? Well it’s the same.

I can say my pedanticness is my German heritage or roll my eyes of at the summer fashion of socks & sandals, but when it’s by someone else – not cool. Don’t assign a nationality to the tourists in that scene, just say tourist. It saves somebody getting the hump about it.
Like me. 😛

Favourite character/moment?

CHRISSI: I loved the character growth. I was impressed!

LUNA: There were quite a few but I’m going to pick the readers introduction to Maali, as she goes to find that unicorn. I knew instantly I’d adore her.

Was The Moonlight Dreamers what you expected?

CHRISSI: Of course! It made me feel warm and fuzzy!

LUNA: Yes, Siobhan Curham doesn’t let me down.

Would you recommend it?

CHRISSI: Definitely!

LUNA: Absolutely.

 

Books by Siobhan Curham previously reviewed by Luna:
True Face
Dear Dylan
Finding Cherokee Brown
Shipwrecked

 

The Moonlight Dreamers is published
on the 7th July 2016 by Walker Books

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

