Introducing Teddy by Jess Walton & Dougal MacPherson (Illustrations)

27158837

Errol and his teddy, Thomas, are best friends who do everything together. Whether it’s riding a bike, playing in the tree house, having a tea party or all of the above, every day holds something fun to do together.

One sunny day, Errol finds that Thomas the Teddy is sad, and Errol can’t figure out why. Then Thomas the Teddy finally tells Errol what Teddy has been afraid to say: ‘In my heart, I’ve always known that I’m a girl teddy, not a boy teddy. I wish my name was Tilly.’ And Errol says, ‘I don’t care if you’re a girl teddy or a boy teddy! What matters is that you are my friend.’

A sweet and gentle story about being true to yourself and being a good friend, Introducing Teddy can also help children understand gender identity.

How did I get the book?  Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review

Review: Introducing Teddy arrived unexpectedly on my doorstep and I read it immediately.

The story in Introducing Teddy is straightforward enough. Errol and Teddy are best friends and when Teddy confesses that she really is a girl wishing to be called Tilly, Errol accepts her. So do their friends.

The illustrations are lovely, there isn’t much text to go which the pictures but it’s not needed. Given the age group this book is aimed at I think Introducing Teddy works well.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

