#inkslingerspicnic at Walker Books

On the 11th June 2016 I attended the Inkslingers Summer Picnic at Walker Books. Shall we bypass all the ambiance stuff and skip straight to the books I’m excited about? Yes? Thought so…

I’m not doing this in order because I HAVE to start with Barefoot on the Wind.

Zoë Marriott newest book comes out in September (that is so far away) and Zoë was actually at the event. She treated (or is it tortured?) us with a small titbit of Barefoot on the Wind which just cemented how amazing she is because I got goosebumps all over and now am suffering even more because it’s not September yet.

Walker are also re-issuing Shadows on the Moon in November with a new cover and new bonus content. *grabby hands*

And because Zoë Marriott wasn’t done on being wonderful she also had a gift for all the bloggers/vloggers. Just ♥

Siobhan Curham was also there to talk about her book, The Moonlight Dreamers, which is out in July. I’ll actually be reading it this month and I’m so looking forward to it. I’ve really enjoyed all of Siobhan’s books I’ve read and the more Siobhan talked about The Moonlight Dreamers the more I got excited.

Fyi, I wanted to work in the animation department at Disney. 

.

Another book I can’t wait to get my hands on is My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton & Jodi Meadows. I’m not even sure how to sum this, it just needs to be read.
My Lady Jane is out in September.

We had a short break for cupcakes, which looked amazing and I’m so sad I couldn’t eat them. I did enjoy the cold drinks though – cause it was boiling.

Lauren James welcomed up back to talk about The Last Beginning (out in October). Now I confess I haven’t read The Next Together yet  – but I plan to rectify that asap. If I plan it right I should get to read both together. That sounds pretty perfect. 🙂

I was very happy to hear that Mango & Bambang will be returning for a third adventure in Tiny Tapir Trouble (out September). I love these books so much and I convinced a few people to take them home so they would discover the magic.

Another MG title that I think sounds promising is The Secret Horses of Briar Hill by Megan Shepherd, which is out in October.

.

Big thanks to Walker Books & Zoë Marriott, Siobhan Curham and Lauren James.

 

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

