Nightwanderers Blog Tour

9780857078056 NIGHTWANDERERS FINAL

It all started with a poo in a flowerbed.

Rosie and Titania are as close as sisters – closer, in fact. While Rosie is shy, red-faced and passive, Ti is big, tough and daring. They shouldn’t be friends, but they are.
Creeping out at night, the girls love to secretly wander through their coastal town, exploring empty streets and sharing their frustrations about school and their different, but equally difficult, families.
But when Rosie betrays Ti, the two girls run in different directions – making decisions that could do irreparable damage to both of their lives. As Rosie confronts harsh truths, she must find a way back to Ti, and to herself.

.

Rosie’s Playlist for Ti
by C.J. Flood

 

In Nightwanderers, Rosie and Ti are the best of friends, despite being opposites in many ways. Rosie is shy, and passive; Ti is outspoken and bold. In spite of their different personalities they have lots in common including their love of family and food, and their craving for adventure.

I listened to Alex Turner’s Submarine and Arctic Monkeys’ Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not a lot as I wrote Nightwanderers, not only because I love them, but because they are what I imagined Rosie’s mum’s favourite albums to be.

I listened to Pulp’s Different Class and His ‘n’ Hers too, which I imagine to be favourites of Rosie’s dad’s. Rosie would be very familiar with both bands!

With that in mind, here are the songs that spring to mind when I imagine Rosie making a playlist for Ti….

  • We’re Going to Be Friends – White Stripes
  • She’s Electric – Oasis
  • If You Wanna – The Vaccines
  • My Little Runaway – Del Shannon
  • Misshapes – Pulp
  • A Certain Romance – Arctic Monkeys
  • You’re My Best Friend – Queen
  • I’ll Stand By You – The Pretenders
  • Hiding Tonight – Alex Turner
  • Wanderer Wandering – Slow Club

Thanks for having me, Luna’s Little Library!

Luna: You’re very welcome.  🙂
I’ve put Rosie’s playlist together on YouTube:

 

CJ Flood_large.

.

C.J. Flood is a UEA Creative Writing MA graduate and a member of the Lucky 13 writers group.

Her debut novel, Infinite Sky, won the 2014 Branford Boase award.

@cjflood_author
cjflood.blogspot.co.uk

.

.

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

