Ten Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed….

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

Ten Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed (less/more love, complicated feelings, indifference, thought it was great in a genre until you became more well read in that genre etc.)

.
.

Relationship Status:
we’re a permanent item

I liked/loved these books at the beginning but my appreciation for them has grown. I’ve re-read them a few times now* and each time I find something else to love.

 

*apart from This Is All – it’s massive

.
.

Relationship Status:
let’s take a break

2014-2015 was the year that YA = John Green. At least as far as mainstream media was concerned. Anything to do with Young Adult books would include John Green and nobody else existed. It annoyed me. I actually don’t mind John Green but if somebody sat chocolate cake in front of me every day I’d get fed up with… So it’s down to that really.

I liked Paper Towns; it was the first John Green book I read. By my third one, The Fault in Our Stars – I was swaying. The books are ok, they have a formula that works BUT it’s the frenzy and hype that gets to me. When I look at Paper Towns now, I don’t see the story I enjoyed reading a few years ago… I just see the circus.

 

.
.

Relationship States:
it’s complicated

All of these books sit on my Diverse Bookcase and when I initially reviewed them I was full of praise. I should say that none of the books here I dislike and there is still much (particularly about The Art of Being Normal) that I applaud/ like. But the more diverse books I read, the more I find myself having conflicting thoughts. Some of it has to do with reading other books that I feel handle the subjects better, as well as me upstanding much more, all of this added together means that while I can appreciate a lot of the good things about the books I also find myself at odds with my original opinion.

 

Follow on Bloglovin

5 thoughts on “Ten Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed….

Leave a Reply

