Interview with Eliza Wass

ewassEliza Wass is a freelance writer, editor and journalist. She comes from Southern California, where she was one of nine perfect children with two perfect parents. She has thousands of friends, all of whom either arrive inside dust jackets or post obsessively on Twitter.

www.elizawass.com
@lovefaithmagic

.

.

Why did you want to write In the Dark, in the Woods? 
My husband and I were living in a death trap of an apartment, without much money and with-quite literally-the walls coming down around us and I wanted to escape that, so I wrote about someone escaping a dangerous situation and eventually it helped me escape.

Is there a character in the book that you’re particularly close to? 
Weirdly I think Caspar is the most similar to what I was like as an actual teen: I was obsessed with appearing good but with this dark interior life that sort of scared me.

Also, I always imagined Caspar as River Pheonix and I always wanted to get close to River Pheonix.

How did you celebrate your book deal? 
I remember one morning checking my emails on my phone when one of the bigger offers came in and I absolutely had that moment of jumping up and down on the bed with my husband like they do in films.

What do you think are the differences between UK and US YA? 
I think the best books are universal.

I’m giving you a free platform to talk about anything – GO: 
Finally! Everyone set a goal to give to a charity once a month. Have a minimum set amount every month and pick a different charity. Find charities in your area to give your time to. Seriously, it is just one of the most fulfilling things in life to help others.

And what is the question you wish people would ask and never do?
You know, to be totally honest, I wish more people would ask about my late husband, Alan Wass. I bang on about him all the time but it’s not enough. He is my favourite person in the world and a brilliant musician and artist and you can find out more about him here: www.alanandtourniquet.com. This book wouldn’t be here without him and neither would I. He absolutely saved my life.

.

 

29284476

Castley Cresswell is sixteen. She lives with her three brothers and two sisters in a big house in the woods. Her mom doesn’t speak and her dad keeps telling her that God hates the world.

Castley can’t bring herself to hate the world. She likes the woods, for one thing. School can be fun, sometimes. And then there’s boys. God definitely hates fun and boys.

Castley loves her brothers and sisters, too. Even if they annoy her. Even if they are scared to death of Father. Even if they’re too scared to run.

Father wants Castley and her siblings to stay in the family forever. And he’ll do whatever it takes to keep them there, even if it means the Cresswell kids never get to grow up at all . . .

What if survival means Castley must leave her brothers and sisters behind?

 

In the Dark, In the Woods
is out today!

 

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “Interview with Eliza Wass

  1. Great interview. She sounds amazing. I could picture her and husband celebrating the book deal like she described 🙂 The synopsis sounds interesting. I will look out for the book.

Leave a Reply

