Perijee and Me by Ross Montgomery

9780571317950Perijee and Me is a hilarious and touching story about an unusual friendship, a heart-stopping adventure, and the power of kindness when you’re faced with an alien invasion. If E.T. the Extra Terrestrial is still “right here” in your heart, then you’re sure to fall hard for the misunderstood Perijee and the one girl who’s desperate to save him.

Caitlin is the only young person living on Middle Island. On the first day of vacation, she finds a tiny alien on the beach. Caitlin becomes close to her secret friend, whom she names Perijee, teaching him everything about her world and treating him like a brother.

There’s only one problem: Perijee won’t stop growing. And growing… Caitlin will have to convince the adults around her—and Perijee himself—that the creature they see as a terrifying monster is anything but.

How did I get the book? Faber Blogger Event

Genre: Adventure

Review: Honestly I am not sure I can adequately describe how much I loved Perijee and Me. I was so head-over-heals that I made myself pace reading the book, just so I would have a few days longer to enjoy it. I could have easily (very easily) read Perijee and Me in one sitting but knowing that this story was waiting for me was like a Perijee light beacon (this will make sense when you read the story yourself, something strongly recommend).

Caitlin’s narration is so endearing. I was utterly smitten from the start and something I loved even more what that it had ‘grown-up’ moments. Little parts that work for older readers and adults reading the book, such as Caitlin’s observations or her not being allowed to repeat what Frank actually said about Perijee. I could well imagine what Frank probably said. 😉 Plus Caitlin herself is just so sweet.

Perijee and Me surprised me, exceeding all expectations. It is heart-warming, enchanting and beautifully written.

Recommend it?

Sunshine Star

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

