Interview with Anna McKerrow

26200465

Seventeen, heartbroken, powerful; Melz has run away from home, run away from the safety of the Greenworld. In the cities of the Redworld, Melz discovers she’s special, desired. And not just for her magical talents. When Melz meets the young but influential Bran, their attraction is instant and electric. In the Redworld, with Bran by her side, unrestrained by the customs of her former life, Melz knows she can reach her true potential. But the world Bran wants to give Melz is ravaged by war and violence. Oil is running out, and people will do anything to gain control of the remaining resources. Melz may be more powerful than ever, but even great power can be a curse when used against you.

Interview with Anna McKerrow

Book two in the Crow Moon Trilogy is out – how does that feel?
It feels great! I’m hoping that people like it. Of course, I’m working hard on book 3 in the trilogy too so there’s not loads of time to focus on book 2 – but I am proud of RED WITCH, I think it’s a good book.

What’s the most surreal moment on your publishing journey (so far)?
There have been many surreal moments – when I appeared at YALC last year I took home a massive ComicCon sign with my name on it from my signing session. That was pretty cool, and odd, seeing my sci-fi heroes’ names up on them as well. Also receiving the suggestion from my editor that we call book 2 RED WITCH – that’s my friend Laura’s online identity and she had been a huge influence in writing these books. I messaged her – YOU HAVE A BOOK NAMED AFTER YOU. Also with CROW MOON, CM was a title among about 20 I threw on an email to my Editor at the time in a massive brainstorming session. For me it had strong Morrigan references but they wouldn’t have known that. So when they chose t, naturally I FELT THE HAND OF THE GODDESS AT WORK BWAHAHAHA. Also CROW MOON launched (completely by accident) on the actual crow moon, the name for the March full moon every year. It was March 5 last year. This year I feel okay for RED WITCH as it launches the day after a massively powerful solar eclipse and new moon in one.
MANIFEST MY DREAMS YO.

Red Witch is about Melz in Redworld (*Luna does a happy dance*)
Can you tell us a little about what happens next?
Glad you’re happy! I enjoyed writing Melz; it was nice to write a girl’s voice and she’s enjoyably dark but also a strong and caring person. In book 3, told from another character’s point of view, I have to bring together a lot of strands in the overall story – what happens with the fuel crisis? Are the portals able to be used for fuel? What’s happening in the rest of the world? What’s happening in the Greenworld and the Red – they’re both under huge strain and the temptation in the Greenworld to stay separate from the rest of the world becomes less and less viable. Plus of course there are the personal storylines to conclude – Danny’s story, Melz, Lowenna, Saba… it’s all kind of a tall order to be honest. I’m panicking. HELP ME.

You’re at the airport with a free pass to get on any plane – where would you go?
Oh my goddess! That would be amazing. Too hard to choose between San Francisco (though I hear it’s got overly gentrified since I last went – maybe Seattle), Ireland – I’m meaning to go and visit some mountains there dedicated to the Morrigan, Iceland for the hot springs and black beaches and the land where roads are diverted around elf hills.

Also what’s the perfect cure to a bad day?
Friends, drinks, bath, bed. Also shopping and 80s movies. Any combination of those. Chips.

And finally, what is the question you wish people would ask and never do?
Would you like this spare massive farmhouse with multifunctional outbuildings, a stable, an orchard, several acres of land and an ancient stone circle? I’ve just renovated it with a luxury kitchen and I don’t want it. It’s free. Oh, would you like the Mercedes S Class in the garage too? Aye, go on then. (Note: obviously one cannot write an ecopagan energy dystopia without being a fearfully left wing hippy – which I am proud of – but I do love a fast car). I’d drive it for a month and then sell it and give the money to Greenpeace. Honest.
.

Red Witch is out now

1657119Anna McKerrow works on creative writing projects for the reading charity Booktrust, which is where she became interested in Young Adult fiction. (It wasn’t around when she was 15; she went straight from Judy Blume to Jackie Collins). She has also published four volumes of poetry and taught creative writing in adult education for 7 years. She also provides school workshop and book event consultancy to writers and publishers.

Anna is a Pagan, reads the tarot, is a Reiki practitioner, and is a little bit obsessed with stone circles. She believes passionately, like Alan Moore, that creative activities such as writing are a kind of magic in themselves.

You can find Anna on Twitter on @AnnaMcKerrow, see her witchy tumblr here, and the Pinterest board for CROW MOON here. She also has a Facebook author page.

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

