Star Struck (The Ladybirds #4) by Jenny McLachlan

28922690In a huge fantastic final hurrah to our lovable heroines – Bea, Betty, Kat and Pearl – Jenny McLachlan’s latest book tells Pearl’s story. Pearl is the ‘bad girl’ of the group – she drinks, she smokes, she swears – and she’s mean to Bea and Betty. But she did fly halfway round the world to rescue Kat in Sunkissed. If there’s one thing Pearl knows deep down, it is how to be a friend. And now, more than ever, she could really use a friend.

There will be laughter, there will be tears and there will definitely be kissing. Most importantly, Pearl will be keeping it fierce!
.
.

How did I get the book?
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review

Genre: Contemporary

Previously reviewed:
Flirty Dancing (The Ladybirds #1)
Love Bomb (The Ladybirds #2)
Sunkissed (The Ladybirds #3)

Review: Warning: This review contains book swooning…

mostwonderfulstory

First things first: I love(d) Star Struck. I completely admit that I have sparkly rose-tinted glasses when it comes to Jenny McLachlan’s books because they just make me happy when I read them. I’ve given up counting on just how many times I’ve re-read Flirty Dancing and I think that one and Star Struck are my favourites in this series.

I read Star Struck in one sitting and upon finishing Pearl’s story proceeded to completely twitter-spam Jenny’s, Bloomsbury and the wonderful publicist feed with emoji’s/gifs processing my love for Star Struck and The Ladybirds books in general. I am not going to spend this review trying to find fault in a book that ended a series on a high for me.

But I am going to try and review it a little bit:

Star Struck is the final book in The Ladybirds series and it’s Pearl’s story. I have been looking forward to this story since we first met Pearl in Flirty Dancing (Ladybirds #1). Back then Pearl was the “mean girl” and while Jenny McLachlan has very gradually been chipping away at this being Pearl’s only image it wasn’t really until Sunkissed (Ladybirds #3) that that we got to see her being a friend.

Pearl’s story had to be the last in the series and while I’ve said before that the order of these books doesn’t tend to matter in this case it does. Do not read Star Struck as your introduction to The Ladybirds because you’ll miss out. I think you need to get to know Pearl through the other books first.

One of the things that I love so much about all the books is how there is always more to each of the girls then the surface. The new girl ‘stealing’ the role of Juliet is Pearl’s coping strategy being taken away. All bets are off. Hoshi has to pay but all of Pearl’s usual methods don’t seem to work. I’m not going to say much else because I really don’t want to spoil anything. Just that don’t watch Finding Nemo before you read this book.

I will miss Betty, Kat, Bea, and Pearl but I can’t wait to see what Jenny McLachlan treats us to next.

Recommend it?

Sunshine Star

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

