Habibi by Craig Thompson

12214502
‘Habibi’, based on a Middle Eastern fable, tells the story of Dodola, who escapes being sold into slavery and rescues an abandoned baby she names Zam.

They live in isolation in an old boat in the desert. As they age their relationship shifts from mother and son, to brother and sister and eventually lovers.

.

How did I get the book? I bought it

Genre: Graphic Novel

Review: I bought Habibi because it was recommend by a friend and I definitely wasn’t disappointed. Visually I can’t express enough how beautiful, intricate and stunning this graphic novel is. You’re caught up in the story so on the one hand you’re too caught up to pause but I also I found myself turning back on pages and returning to certain parts after I had finished reading Habibi just to appreciate the artwork. I do wish that the translations of the text hadn’t been buried in the back of the book as I kept flicking between pages.

There are parts I loved deeply and at the end of the book where I was nearly in tears (you’ll know when you reach it) but Habibi is tough going. It’s a complicated story and certainly doesn’t shy away from anything. The book begins when Dodola is 9 and sold into marriage, she is raped by her husband. Both her and Zam go through much together and apart.

At nearly 700 pages is a not a book you read quickly. It’s an emotional read with an intricate story and spectacular artwork. Well worth investing the time in.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

intro178

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

