Visiting Faber & Faber #BloggerEvent

On Saturday the 20th February I was invited to Faber & Faber for cupcakes and tea. Actually it was to hear about their upcoming titles but I feel like the cupcakes need a mentioned since the matched one of the books I’ll be swooning about in a moment: Highly Illogical Behaviour by John Corey Whaley.

So I’m not going to do this post in order of the event, because I want to start with Highly Illogical Behaviour. Magic doors aren’t a thing yet (why not?) so John Corey Whaley sadly wasn’t there but he did send a video message to tell us about why he wanted to write Highly Illogical Behaviour, he also read a little section from the book. I’m currently reading Noggin’ (on recommendation from Hannah at Faber) so knew writing wise it be good, but I deliberately didn’t look up anything about Highly Illogical Behaviour before… anyway that video.

John Corey Whaley gets it – he knows it. I am not going to have to worry this.
I am so excited about:

Highly Illogical Behaviour by John Corey Whaley
June 2016

Sixteen-year-old Solomon is agoraphobic. He hasn’t left the house in three years, which is fine by him.

Ambitious Lisa desperately wants to get into the second-best psychology program for college (she’s being realistic). But how can she prove she deserves a spot there?

Solomon is the answer.

Determined to “fix” Sol, Lisa thrusts herself into his life, introducing him to her charming boyfriend Clark and confiding her fears in him. Soon, all three teens are far closer than they thought they’d be, and when their facades fall down, their friendships threaten to collapse, as well.

 

Next up, let me talk about the amazing authors who were there:
Awlyn Hamilton and Laure Eve.

I have not shut up about Rebel of the Sands for most of this year and I made Beth from @bibliobeth1 buy a copy that afternoon. Come to think of it I’ve made a lot of people buy copies… (is there book-buy-bullying if it’s for someone’s own reading joy?)

Rebel of the Sands came earlier this month and you need to get a copy.
Trust me!

Laure Eve gave us little titbits of The Graces which I think is due out in September (so a long way, oh the agony…) there isn’t a cover yet. Basically Faber and Laure just teased us with a lot of awesome and then went you need to wait. It’s kind of cruel, especially when it all sounds so brilliant.

In The Graces, a teenage girl becomes transfixed by a trio of wealthy and glamorous siblings who wield power over their community, fuelling rumours of witchcraft.

Let’s talk about some MG books. First up is Perijee and Me by Ross Montgomery which is out in March and sounds just perfectly adorable. There was a copy in our goody bag so I’m going to try and sneak it in as soon as possible.

9780571317950

When 11-year-old Caitlin discovers a shrimp-like alien creature on the shores of her island home, she takes responsibility for teaching it about the world. Mostly, this just involved stopping little Perijee from eating everything! Caitlin becomes increasingly close to her alien friend, treating him like a brother.

There’s only one problem – Perijee won’t stop growing.

Then the authorities try to hunt him down and through his fear, Perijee disappears and starts causing trouble. Caitlin must leave home and travel across the country to try and convince Perijee to stop destroying everything before it’s too late.

Later in the year is Podkin One-Ear by Kieran Larwood which isn’t out until the second half of this year and I summed up in a tweet as such:

Probably not the best description but it sounds like a really amazing book and I do hope I get the chance to read it. (Also after being up since 5.30am I am allowed to have typos in my tweets :P)

Other familiar author’s that have books coming out with Faber are:

Emma Carroll’s Strange Star (which I think is due out in July). It’s a MG/Historical Fiction with ghostly influence and it’s Emma Carrol – so you know I’m happy. We got a glance at the cover, I’m not sure if it’s the final version. Didn’t love it as previous covers tbh but it fits, and it’s not horrible just not striking. The inside is the important part though and here I’m pretty convinced I’ll be back to all the ♥s. Emma’s never failed me yet. (No pressure!)

The next book in The Diaries of Bluebell Gadsby by Natasha Farrent: Time For Jas is also out this year. I adore that series SO much and can’t wait to see what comes next. If you haven’t read any of the books yet, now is the time for you to start – you will not be disappointed. I believe Time for Jas is due out in August but don’t hold me to that date.

Also Rebel, Bully, Geek, Pariah by Erin Jade Lange. Four teenagers, never destined to be friends find themselves on the run from corrupt police officers in a stolen police car. I’ve read both of Erin’s other books and this sounds good. This is out in March, so go grab a copy. 🙂

The last in Winterkill Trilogy by Kate A. Boorman will also be published, Heartfire

Before I forget, Beyond Infinity (Imagination Box #2) by Martyn Ford is out in April.

 

 

Think I’m done? Oh no… there are still more pretties. Starting with:

The Smell of Other People’s Houses by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock
(April 2016)

28436039

Alaska, 1970: growing up here is like nowhere else.

Ruth wants to be remembered by her grieving mother.
Dora wishes she was invisible to her abusive father.
Alyce is staying at home to please her parents.
Hank is running away for the sake of his brothers.

Four very different lives are about to become entangled. Because if we don’t save each other, how can we begin to save ourselves?

This was actually one of the first books we got introduced to (told you I’m turning everything on it’s head) and after about a minute I had the mantra in my head of “please tell us we get a copy” – I did get a copy, so very happy Luna. I love how I know this will be a book so different from many others, love the cover (SO MUCH) and something about it is just calling me.

The-Monstrous-Child-draftThe next one I kinda dismissed in the first couple of seconds, which is bad and you should never do because the more I heard the more I was like I need to read this: The Monstrous Child by Francesca Simon. So Hel, is pretty annoyed. She’s been banished to the underworld – she’s the goddess there and has to deal with the dead and frankly it’s unfair. (I like her already) Hel is from Norse mythology just in case you were unfamiliar. The Monstrous Child is due out in May.

.

Faber & Faber are publishing more Squishy McFluff books this year (which is always good news as I adores those) and in April look out for Dave Pigeon by Swapna Haddow because that sounds hilarious.

And you know what I think I shall leave you with these… because that’s plenty of books to get excited about.

Which ones are your favourites?

Dear Faber, thank you for my treasures.

Dear Faber, thank you for my treasures.

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “Visiting Faber & Faber #BloggerEvent

  1. Pingback: Highly Illogical Behaviour by John Corey Whaley |

Leave a Reply

