Daughters unto Devils by Amy Lukavics

26891568Sometimes I believe the baby will never stop crying.

Sixteen-year-old Amanda Verner fears she is losing her mind. When her family move from their small mountain cabin to the vast prairie, Amanda hopes she can leave her haunting memories behind: of her sickly Ma giving birth to a terribly afflicted baby; of the cabin fever that claimed Amanda’s sanity; of the boy who she has been meeting in secret…

But the Verners arrive on the prairie to find their new home soaked in blood. So much blood. And Amanda has heard stories – about men becoming unhinged and killing their families, about the land being tainted by wickedness. With guilty secrets weighing down on her, Amanda can’t be sure if the true evil lies in the land, or within her soul…

How did I get the book? I bought it

Genre: Historical Fiction / Horror

Review: Daughters unto Devils wasn’t the read I expected. At just over 200 pages it’s a relatively quick read but I wouldn’t consider it a fast-passed story.

As a historical fiction read I enjoyed Amy Lukavics debut and there is a subtle underlying tension in the Amanda’s narration as she guides us through her family’s journey. What happened to them last Winter? Why is Amanda convinced that the devil has claimed her?

As the narrator I found Amanda convincing and I thought the descriptions where good. I didn’t have any problems re-creating her world as I read Daughters unto Devils.

Yet as a horror story I do struggle with this book. I think it takes too long to get started. There also wasn’t enough for me, as the reader, to get particularly concerned with. Everything happens in the last few chapters at which point I’d reached the ‘finally’ stage.

If I’d approached Daughters unto Devils as a historical fiction read with a twist I think I would have enjoyed it more because there elements I really do like. So that’s my recommendation for you, don’t think of this as a horror story, more like an unnerving prairie historical with mysterious bloody house. Enjoy.

Recommend it?

Maybe

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

