My Favourite Things About Marieke Nijkamp – Part 1

Marieke holding the precious

This year I will have known Marieke for 9 years. Can you believe that? I can’t… it feels longer and like no time at all. Which doesn’t make sense but then I never much claimed to make much of that, sense that this. 😉

You’ve heard me praise This Is Where It Ends for months and that’s not likely to stop because it is amazing and I would be saying that without knowing Marieke (I think it’s more terrifying handing me things to read if you know me truth be told) but knowing Marieke as I do I thought I’d share some of my favourite things about her.

  • The way she always finds her way no matter where you put her. Marieke has the best sense of direction of anyone I’ve ever met. It’s like she’s got an in-built map and homing beacon for where she needs to go – even when she’s never been to that destination before.
  • Don’t google it. Marieke it! She’s an encyclopaedia of knowledge.
  • Here’s the thing, I cried buckets while reading This Is Where It Ends. Not surprising really but when it comes to characters Marieke has a way of making me care A LOT. You’ll see, TIWIE is just the beginning.
  • Need to know which Dr Who episode a certain quote came from, which character did what? Ask Marieke… same goes for Torchwood and a few other programmes. Her brain is like its own Tardis.
  • I get to play with her cats (and sorta adopt them)

.

.

untitled

10:00 a.m.
The principal of Opportunity, Alabama’s high school finishes her speech, welcoming the entire student body to a new semester and encouraging them to excel and achieve.

10:02 a.m.
The students get up to leave the auditorium for their next class.

10:03
The auditorium doors won’t open.

10:05
Someone starts shooting.

Told over the span of 54 harrowing minutes from four different perspectives, terror reigns as one student’s calculated revenge turns into the ultimate game of survival.

 

.
Order This Is Where It Ends here:

Amazon.co.uk …………. Amazon.com ………… Book Depository

.

Marieke Nijkamp was born and raised in the Netherlands. A lifelong student of stories, language, and ideas, she is more or less proficient in about a dozen languages and holds degrees in philosophy, history, and medieval studies. She is a storyteller, dreamer, globe-trotter, geek. Her debut young adult novel This Is Where It Ends, a contemporary story that follows four teens over the course of the fifty-four minutes of a school shooting, will be published by Sourcebooks Fire in January 2016.

She is the founder of DiversifYA and a senior VP of We Need Diverse Books. Find her on Twitter.

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

