Interview with Marieke Nijkamp

Marieke Nijkamp was born and raised in the Netherlands. A lifelong student of stories, language, and ideas, she is more or less proficient in about a dozen languages and holds degrees in philosophy, history, and medieval studies. She is a storyteller, dreamer, globe-trotter, geek. Her debut young adult novel This Is Where It Ends, a contemporary story that follows four teens over the course of the fifty-four minutes of a school shooting, will be published by Sourcebooks Fire in January 2016.

She is the founder of DiversifYA and a senior VP of We Need Diverse Books. Find her on Twitter.

This Is Where It Ends will be out tomorrow. How are you feeling?
I keep going back and forth between being delighted! excited! so happy! and wanting to hide under the blankets. It hit some stores a little early, so I had some time to get used to it, but it still feels utterly bizarre. And like a dream come true. 🙂

2015 was quite a year. Tell us some of your highlights:
This time last year, I hadn’t even announced my book deal yet! How bizarre is that? It’s truly been a rollercoaster of a year! But the book deal was absolutely a highlight! Signing ARCs at BEA! Giving my first keynote speech! Holding my book for the first time! And above all of those, hanging out with so many friends at various conferences/conventions/literature festivals. Because this community is just amazing.

And what’s in store for 2016?
Well I’m starting the year with more hanging out with friends, doing bookstore events, going to ALA… so that’s a fab way to start my debut year! Beyond that… I honestly haven’t really given it a lot of thought yet! There are other events upcoming, and I’m also looking forward to writing a few new stories and working on a few new projects. There’s going to be plenty to keep me busy!

So what other 2016 debuts do you recommend?
ALL OF THEM. I’m so looking forward to reading more of Kerry Kletter’s THE FIRST TIME SHE DROWNED, which is absolutely beautiful. Alwyn Hamilton’s REBEL OF THE SANDS will hook you and not let you go. Audrey Coulthurst’s OF FIRE AND STARS is a fantastic, fantastic book. And Randi Pink’s debut is high on my tbr ever since I heard about it, and I’m sure it’s going to be FANTASTIC!

Luna: I confirm that Rebel of the Sands is awesome and I’m adding all the other to my TBR pile now.

Has somebody shown up with a Tardis yet? (If they did, where/when would you go?)
Alas, no! If someone did, I’d go pick up a few friends first and after that? Anytime. Anywhere.

Luna: I expect a collection any day now 😉

.

.

 

untitled

10:00 a.m.
The principal of Opportunity, Alabama’s high school finishes her speech, welcoming the entire student body to a new semester and encouraging them to excel and achieve.

10:02 a.m.
The students get up to leave the auditorium for their next class.

10:03
The auditorium doors won’t open.

10:05
Someone starts shooting.

Told over the span of 54 harrowing minutes from four different perspectives, terror reigns as one student’s calculated revenge turns into the ultimate game of survival.

 

.
Order This Is Where It Ends here:

Amazon.co.uk …………. Amazon.com ………… Book Depository

.

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

