Wytches, Vol. 1 (Wytches #1-6) by Scott Snyder & Jock (Illustrator)

25243735How did I get the book? I bought it

Genre: Graphic Novel / Horror

Synopsis: Everything you thought you knew about witches is wrong. They are much darker, and they are much more horrifying. Wytches takes the mythology of witches to a far creepier, bone-chilling place than readers have dared venture before.

When the Rooks family moves to the remote town of Litchfield, NH to escape a haunting trauma, they’re hopeful about starting over. But something evil is waiting for them in the woods just beyond town. Watching from the trees. Ancient…and hungry.

200words (or less) review: If you go into the woods tonight you’re in for a horrifying surprise…

In my quest for find something to, well at least unnerve me (sort of given up on the terrifying bit)… I’ve cast my net wider and this was recommended by a bookseller after he said it gave him nightmares. He did follow this up by stating he was a wimp but the ‘trees eating people’ premise already had me sold plus it looked so beautiful.

Wytches is seriously stunning. I’m new to this type of graphic novel having very much grown up with Manga’s so I only have a handful of reference points but visually I loved this.

The story is solid and no I wasn’t terrified but it is decently horrifying. Coupled with the artwork I think it’s effective.* I was also impressed with how developed Sail and her father were as characters.

I certainly hope there is more…

Recommend it?

Absolutely

*Just apparently not me – who just kept thinking ‘pretty’.
Yes I’m peculiar that way.
I think my arty brain got in the way…

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

