The Worst Girlfriend in the World by Sarra Manning

22076930How did I get the book? Netgalley & I bought a copy

Genre: Contemporary

Previously reviewed: Adorkable

Synopsis: My best friend was now my deadliest enemy, the one person I’d hate beyond all measure for the rest of my life…

Franny Barker’s best friend, Alice, is the worst girlfriend in the world according to the many boys of Merrycliffe-on-Sea. She toys with them, then dumps them. But she’ll never dump fashion-obsessed Franny. Nothing and no one can come between them.

Not even tousle-haired rock god, Louis Allen, who Franny’s been crushing on hard. Until Alice, bored with immature boys and jealous of Franny’s new college friends, sets her sights on Louis. Suddenly, best friends are bitter rivals.

Is winning Louis’s heart worth more than their friendship? There’s only one way for Franny to find out.

Side-note: There multiple mentions of Lytham St Anne’s and Blackpool in this book. I feel like there should be extra points – there is something special about seeing the place where you live mentioned in a book. Especially when it’s tiny, ok Blackpool isn’t but Lytham St Anne’s.

200words (or less) review: Anyway, I’ve been meaning to read The Worst Girlfriend in the World for ages and I finally sat down and did. It was massively overdue. Sarra Manning is great at characters, well at least at completely relatable and convincing teenage girls. To be fair I haven’t read any of her adult novels. I probably should… (Leave your recommendation in the comments!)

Franny has always been on Alice’s side. She’s stood up for her as other’s have name-called and raged about Alice and her boyfriend behaviour. (Btw I thought there was a lot of interesting pause for thought moments in regards to double standards in this book; example how instead of the boys being raged at for cheating it’s Alice’s behaviour that is called to question for not checking they are single?! I kinda wished it had been a book-club read so I could have discussed this and other points in a group setting.) But when Alice goes for a guy Franny adores the line is crossed and their friendship seems broken.

The Worst Girlfriend in the World is very entertaining, full of heart and definitely a book I’d recommend.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

