I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

23573418How did I get the book? StorytellersInc Book Club

Genre: Contemporary / Paranormal

Synopsis: Jude and her twin Noah were incredibly close – until a tragedy drove them apart, and now they are barely speaking. Then Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy as well as a captivating new mentor, both of whom may just need her as much as she needs them. What the twins don’t realize is that each of them has only half the story and if they can just find their way back to one another, they have a chance to remake their world.

200words (or less) review:
Having been swept away by The Sky Is Every­where in my pre-blogging days I completely understood the excitement surrounding I’ll Give You The Sun when it was published. I mean this book was everywhere!

To love this book I think you have to love Jude and Noah and, personally, I lacked that. Consequently I really wasn’t all that invested. Jandy Nelson knows how to write beautifully and this book is vivid like the art both twins try and create. The last 100(ish) pages I thought were great but that’s ¾ through the book…

Honestly at times I thought about putting I’ll Give You The Sun down but then there were these moments that made it. So I’m torn because those sparks were worth it. I sound quite negative but I think it’s because I so wanted to love this book and I just didn’t have that experience, yet it is a really well written story.

I’ll Give You The Sun is good and if you connect with Jude and Noah I think it’ll be an amazing read for you. Personally recommend The Sky Is Every­where by Jandy Nelson first.

Recommend it?

Yes

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

