Here Be Dragons by Sarah Mussi

25767772How did I get the book? Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review

Genre: Fantasy

Previously reviewed:
Riot
Angel Dust
Siege

Synopsis: Ellie Morgan wants a boy who’s all hers. Just for once, it would be nice to meet someone that Sheila the cow hadn’t got her claws in to.

A remote farmhouse on Mount Snowdon is hardly the ideal setting for meeting anyone – unless, of course, you count her best friend George or creepy Darren (which Ellie doesn’t). But when a boy, glimpsed through the mist and snow, lures her up to the Devil’s Bridge, Ellie realises the place she knows so well still has its secrets …

The stronger her feelings for this strange boy become, the more she is in danger: a battle as old as Snowdon itself has been raging for centuries and now Ellie’s caught in the middle.

Something has left its lair.
It’s out there stalking her.
Who ever said true love was easy?

200words (or less) review: Here Be Dragons is the first in The Snowdonia Chronicles but it’s a complete story. The book is narrated by Ellie, who has a very distinct voice.

My review is based on the proof I received so I don’t know if the final copy will differ but the tendency to strike cross words out (like so) became more irritating as the story progressed. The little sub-notes, mostly about translations from Welsh were helpful but others, like explaining why George was called Siôr, could have been part of the narration. I thought it stopped the flow of the story, having to go look these up and I’m not sure why this formatting has been chosen.

Setting this aside, the story itself has dragons so you know I’m already going to be happy. I liked legend and I love Ellie’s best friend George who is absolutely my favourite thing about this book.

As with Sarah Mussi’s other books it took next to no time for me to be at the hallway point without realising it. The last chapter has me intrigued enough to want to know what happens next and of course I need to know what becomes of George. 😉

Recommend it?

Yes

Expected publication:
September 1st 2015 by Vertebrate Publishing

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

