First Class Murder: A Murder Most Unladylike Mystery (Wells and Wong #3) by Robin Stevens

23479358How did I get the book?
I bought it
(more like I ran to buy it… I got my bookshop to text me the minute it arrived!)

Genre: Mystery / Historical Fiction

Previously reviewed:
Murder Most Unladylike
Arsenic for Tea

Synopsis: Daisy Wells and Hazel Wong are taking a holiday through Europe on the world-famous Orient Express. From the moment the girls step aboard, it’s clear that each of their fellow first-class passengers has something to hide. Even more intriguing: rumour has it that there is a spy in their midst.

Then, during dinner, there is a bloodcurdling scream from inside one of the cabins. When the door is broken down, a passenger is found murdered, her stunning ruby necklace gone. But the killer is nowhere to be seen – almost as if they had vanished into thin air.

Daisy and Hazel are faced with their first ever locked-room mystery – and with competition from several other sleuths, who are just as determined to crack the case as they are.

Review: The Wells & Wong Mysteries are some of my favourite books and I read the last instalment the minute I got home. I’m not exaggerating! The only thing I did first was make a cup of tea and get some cookies because you can’t read about Hazel and Daisy without bunbreak supplies. It’s essential.

Murder on the Orient Express, again. Only this time it’s Daisy and Hazel who are investigating. Discreetly mind you because Hazel’s father it quite adamant that Hazel is supposed to be a good influence on Daisy and all this dangerous detecting as no business on their holiday. It’s a bit difficult to ignore the dead body, the mystery surrounding the murder and all the intriguing passengers though.

First Class Murder is my favourite book in the series so far (not that I didn’t love the other two books because they are brilliant). Hazel grows which each story and in this book I felt she really shone. Hazel has an inner strength and we see a lot of the accepted racism of that time, not just how people treat Hazel and her father but also in the fact that this it set in the run up to WW2.

Can’t wait for the next book. The Wells & Wong Detective Society can continue indefinitely. I adore Robin Stevens books.

Recommend it?

Sunshine Star

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

