Frail Human Heart (The Name of the Blade #3) by Zoë Marriott

25104766How did I get the book? Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Previously reviewed:

Synopsis: In the thrilling final installment of Zoë Marriott’s epic, Japanese-inspired urban fantasy trilogy, Mio has succeeded in banishing the Goddess of Death’s plague-spreading monsters – by making the most terrible sacrifice. Now Mio’s love Shinobu is lost forever, the Goddess is rising from the underworld, and hell is literally breaking loose in London.

To save the city from the catastrophic war between gods, Mio must journey into the perilous dream realm to learn the final secret of the katana’s origins, and its true powers. With secrets from her own family’s past emerging, and more impossible choices to be made, she will need every bit of help available from her remaining friends and her allies in the Kitsune Kingdom just to escape her quest alive.

Because in the end, the only thing standing between the human world and the apocalypse… is Mio. And her sword.

200words (or less) review: Frail Human Heart is EVERYTHING!!!

Writing, world-building and the emotions! Don’t get me started on the turmoil this book put me through. I mean it was wonderful but I feel like Walker Books should provide a survival kit with the last instalment of the trilogy.

I’m not sure what else I can say about Zoë Marriott writing at this point, or the amazing stories she creates that I haven’t already said in previous reviews. The Name of The Blade Trilogy was truly perfect for me. Which is spectacular given how I avoid trilogies and loathe things like insta love but Zoë Marriott made it work – how she made it work.

So instead of repeating myself I’ll talk about Mio’s parents. Thank you Zoë Marriott for given me a father and mother in a story that aren’t just there because the protagonist is underage but because they matter. Parents who have a real relationship with the main character, parents I can believe in, basically 3D characters that don’t suck. Parents that I so rarely find in YA books and ones I wish I saw more often.

Thank you for this trilogy, I loved every moment of it.

You can read my entire Twitter read-along commentary on Storify here:
https://storify.com/lunaslibrary/lunareadingfrailhumanheart

Recommend it?

Sunshine Star

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

