Ten Fairytale Retellings I’ve Read or Want To Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

I adore fairy tales, old or new. Retellings are a bit of a mixed bag in my experience, some of them really fail but thankfully there are some wonderful ones out there.

Shadows on the Moon by Zoë Marriott

Book of the Year 2012

according to Goodreads based on Cinderella (The Brothers Grimm) – as it gives me an excuse to include one of my favourite books I’ll take it.

 

Woodcutter Sisters Series by Alethea Kontis

The first book Enchanted is mainly based on The Frog Prince but there are so many other fairy tales mixed in. Book two is Hero and Dearest is the most recent. I adore them all. ♥

Entwined by Heather Dixon

8428195

based on The Twelve Dancing Princesses (The Brothers Grimm)

Deerskin by Robin McKinley

Deerskin_cover

based on Donkeyskin (Charles Perrault)
Robin McKinley has done so many retellings and I could have picked any one of them but this is one is so amazing.

Monstrous Beauty by Elizabeth Fama

Monstrous-Beauty-by-Elizabeth-Fama

based on The Little Mermaid (Hans Christian Andersen)

Ash by Malinda Lo

tumblr_lrov27ejw31qddyjvo1_400_zpsffd561c8

based on Cinderella (The Brothers Grimm)

The Swan Kingdom by Zöe Marriott

img14912444fab1659f15

based on The Wild Swans (Hans Christian Andersen)

.
.

And these are some retellings I have on my shelf I can’t wait to read…


.

Do you know of any others I should read?

 

Follow on Bloglovin

6 thoughts on “Ten Fairytale Retellings I’ve Read or Want To Read

  1. I literally posted on my Top Ten that someone needed to write a book on the little mermaid and I see one on your list I need to add it to my TBR. I haven’t heard of any of these books before but I definitely need to check them out.

    Tina @ Tina, The Bookworm

Leave a Reply

