The Kiss by Lucy Courtenay

25617446How did I get the book? Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review

Genre: Contemporary

Synopsis: ‘Aphrodite kissed a mortal once by the light of this moon, many thousands of years ago. It drove him crazy. The next person that he kissed – boum. The craziness travelled like this from person to person. It travelled through time. Everywhere – boum! Tu comprends?’ ‘Where did it end up?’ I whisper. His lips are on my cheek now. ‘It ended with me. And now I am going to pass it to you. You will like that, mermaid?’

Imagine the perfect kiss. A legendary kiss that makes people crazy with love. Imagine a summer’s night, on a moonlit beach in the South of France, as French boy Laurent kisses 16-year-old Delilah after the best chat-up line she’s ever heard. BOOM! Delilah is pretty sure the Kiss is fiction, despite her head-spinning holiday fling. But with all the sudden crushes, break-ups and melt-downs happening back at home, the Kiss starts looking a little too real for comfort. If only Delilah could keep track of where it’s gone …Who knew one kiss could cause this much trouble? A hilarious rom-com that will delight Geek Girls everywhere!

200words (or less) review: Admittedly I didn’t think I’d enjoy this book as much as I did. I ended up reading it because I was in the ‘romance’ mood which strikes me about twice a year so I grabbed The Kiss and didn’t stop until the last page was read.

Couple of things – Delilah didn’t exactly make the best first impression with her ‘onion’ verdict on her best friend’s boyfriend and I have some issues about the sheer stupidity of Jem’s past but I let it slide.

Why? Well firstly Delilah needs to mess up her best friends romance (it’ll become clear) and she owns her mistakes. Also I think The Kiss is somewhat mis-sold. It has the Aphrodite blurb, the pink hearts and the Geek Girl reference but actually Delilah has to figure out her money issues, there is a crime element. Delilah is trying to fix the relationship she thinks she created and then there are the Zombies (not real ones). It’s a lot – and it’s narrated with humour and feeling. I ended up really caring about Delilah.

The Kiss might not have been what I thought it was but that’s fine, because it was better. 🙂

Recommend it?

Absolutely

Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “The Kiss by Lucy Courtenay

  1. I was the same! Really not that fussed in the first few chapters (I nearly gave up on it) and the blurb has completely given readers the wrong impression about it, but I ended up really loving the book by the end. Definitely a surprise read, but it’s a shame because I think quite a few people will not look twice at it after reading that blurb. Great review!

Leave a Reply

