Sleepless by Lou Morgan

23301454How did I get the book? Netgalley, thank you Stripes Publishing.
I also bought my own copy.

Genre: Horror

Synopsis: Young, rich and good-looking, Izzy and her friends lead seemingly perfect lives. But exams are looming and at a school like Clerkenwell, failure is not an option. Luckily, Tigs has a solution. A small pill that will make revision a breeze and help them get the results they need. Desperate to succeed, the group begin taking the study drug. It doesn’t take long before they realize there are far worse things than failing a few exams.

200words (or less) review: I’m continuously on the search for good horror so was eager to give Sleepless a go.

Here’s what I absolutely loved about the book: It’s got all the classic horror you expect/want. If there was a way for books to play eerie music while you were turning pages, then Sleepless would have been the complete experience.

Lou Morgan has written some truly cinematic horror moments – which I adored. (Yes I do worry about myself sometimes.) I mean that balcony scene? Brilliant!

But I didn’t connect with Izzy and I didn’t understand why Izzy and her friends did what they did. Exams are important and stressful but that solution? And then not seeking help? I guess the tradition in horror is that people have really bad ideas but in my mind I kept thinking: ‘What are you doing?!’

Sleepless takes a little while to get going but when it does… watch out.

Recommend it?

Yes

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

