Apple and Rain by Sarah Crossan

22171851How did I get the book? StorytellersInc Book Club

Genre: Contemporary

Previously reviewed:
The Weight of Water

Synopsis: When Apple’s mother returns after eleven years away, Apple feels whole again. But just like the stormy Christmas Eve when she left, her mother’s homecoming is bittersweet. It’s only when Apple meets someone more lost than she is that she begins to see things as they really are.

A story about sad endings.
A story about happy beginnings.
A story to make you realise who is special.

200words (or less) review: Sometimes when I sit down to write out reviews I sit there ages when really all that is need is one word: ‘wonderful’. That’s it.
Apple and Rain is wonderful.

From the moment you begin until that last sentence Sarah Crossan has pulled you into this beautifully written story that slowly breaks your heart only to put it back together again. I know I sound a tad over the top but when you begin reading and meet Apple for yourself you’ll understand what I mean.

Nan, Del, Mr Graydon and of course Rain and Apple’s mother are complete characters. You don’t feel like there just there to move the story along. They belong.

There book is a relatively quick read but has such an impact on the reader (at least it did on me). On more than one occasion I wished I could climb into the pages to help Apple.

Like I said Apple and Rain is wonderful.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

