The D’Evil Diaries by Tatum Flynn

21939665How did I get the book?
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review

Genre: Fantasy

Synopsis: A hilarious, crackling, original debut about an unlucky demon, perfect for fans of Derek Landy and Eoin Colfer.

Twelve-year-old Jinx is hopeless at being evil. Which is a bit of a problem when you’re Lucifer’s youngest son. But when Jinx runs away from Pandemonium, the walled city he’s lived in all his life, he bumps into dead girl Tommy – who’s been sent to Hell for accidentally feeding her nasty uncle to a circus lion – and unearths a conspiracy that could up-end the entire underworld.

Cue shenanigans involving carnivorous carousel horses, death-trap-riddled libraries and hungry quicksand. Now the fate of the realm rests in the hands of its most unlikely demon and a girl who shouldn’t be in Hell at all…

200words (or less) review: Loved it – start to finish. Wouldn’t change a thing. Actually not quite true, I wanted the next book immediately upon completing the final page and was somewhat perturbed about the fact that this was not an option.

So what’s to love about The D’Evil Diaries? Well let’s start with the fact that it’s brilliantly written shall we. There is a great balance between the humour (will get to that in a moment), story, characters and have I mentioned the wonderful world of Hell yet? Though to be fair I think ‘wonderful’ and ‘hell’ should probably not be in the same sentence, nonetheless I loved the one Tatum Flynn imagines here.

The story is fun and I was routing for Jinx from the start but there are all these little gems of dialogue and jokes. I’m half tempted to start listing them. That would spoil it though… I will say this – halfway through the book there is a Wizard of Oz reference which was the moment I knew it was perfect.

The D’Evil Diaries is so entertaining and works on many levels. I’m pretty convinced that this is a book you’d enjoy regardless of if you’re 9 or 90.

Recommend it?

Sunshine Star

Follow on Bloglovin

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s