A Whisper of Wolves (Guardians of the Wild #1) by Kris Humphrey

23672985How did I get the book? Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review

Genre: Fantasy

Synopsis: When a raven drops a white feather at the doorstep on the day of your birth, it is a symbol of your destiny. You are a Whisperer – a guardian of the wild. After many years of peace in the kingdom of Meridina, rumours are spreading of a planned invasion – could the demonic Narlaw be returning from the darklands? It is up to the Whisperers and their animal companions to defend Meridina, protect Princess Ona and stop the Narlaw from destroying their world.

When hunters from her village disappear without a trace, Alice suspects that something sinister is at work. With the help of Storm, her wolf companion, Alice fights to save her village. The Narlaw are on the attack and it’s up to the Whisperers to stop them…

200words (or less) review: A couple of things to start off with; Guardians of the Wild is a 4-part fantasy series. A Whisper of Wolves is book 1, I had it in my head that this was Alice’s book (that might be partly the blurb?) but this is a dual-narration story. It threw me of track because after a few chapters the book was somewhere else.

I’m going to say right now that I want to continue with this series, having grown rather fond of Alice and Storm I’d like to see what happens next.

A Whisper of Wolves is quite short so the story is fast-paced. Alice is pretty much in it from the very beginning. I think that’s why the move of narration threw me, because switching to Dawn (the other Whisperer) also changed the flow of the story. Dawn’s world is the structure to Alice’s wild, at least in the beginning.

For me personally I’d like to have had a little more but as the story is written as a series I imagine the ‘more’ will come in the other books. I’ll be interested to see what they bring.

Recommend it?

Yes

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “A Whisper of Wolves (Guardians of the Wild #1) by Kris Humphrey

  1. You are the first person I have seen that has read this book as well! I loved it! I agree with you the dual narrative confused me a little but I got the hang of it and thought it really added to the story although Storm and Alice were my favourites and am excited for the next book 🙂

Leave a Reply

