Campari for Breakfast by Sara Crowe

23347026How did I get the book?
StorytellersInc Book Club

Genre: Contemporary / Historical Fiction

Synopsis: In 1987, Sue Bowl’s world changes for ever. Her mother dies, leaving her feeling like she’s lost a vital part of herself. And then her father shacks up with an awful man-eater called Ivana.

But Sue’s mother always told her to make the most of what she’s got – and what she’s got is a love of writing and some eccentric relatives. So Sue moves to her Aunt Coral’s crumbling ancestral home, where she fully intends to write a book and fall in love . . . and perhaps drink Campari for breakfast

Campari for Breakfast is a heart-warming, eccentric novel that joins the ranks of great British coming-of-age novels such as Dodie Smith’s I Capture the Castle and Nancy Mitford’s The Pursuit of Love.

200words (or less) review: I’ll preface this review by admitting that at one point Campari for Breakfast looked like it would be my first DNF book of 2015. I am glad I persisted, though truthfully I only did because I was reading this for book-club, because after the first 200 pages it got more interesting.

Campari for Breakfast hinges on your feeling of Sue, if you connect to her then I think you’ll be charmed by this book, her stay with Aunt Coral in Green Place and the other tenants that reside there. There certainly are a lot of characters in this story and it has quirkiness, the tenants creating hauntings for Mr Tsunawa for example.

Personally I didn’t connect with Sue, so consequently wasn’t invested in her story. While some of the going-ons of Green Place were entertaining they didn’t keep me from putting down the book in favour of other things.

Campari for Breakfast is a quaint read, the more you like Sue the more you’ll enjoy the book I think.

Recommend it?

Not sure*

*2.5Stars

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

