My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

23301770How did I get the book? via bookbridgr, thank you Hodder

Genre: Contemporary

Synopsis: Aysel and Roman are practically strangers, but they’ve been drawn into an unthinkable partnership. In a month’s time, they plan to commit suicide – together.

Aysel knows why she wants to die: being the daughter of a murderer doesn’t equal normal, well-adjusted teenager. But she can’t figure out why handsome, popular Roman wants to end it all….and why he’s even more determined than she is.

With the deadline getting closer, something starts to grow between Aysel and Roman – a feeling she never thought she would experience. It seems there might be something to live for, after all – but is Aysel in so deep she can’t turn back?

*WARNING*
Depending on your definition, this review might contain spoilers.

200words (or less) review: Jasmine Warga debut definitely is a book that will stay with me for a while. While Aysel feels alone she’s certainly a narrator I had a lot of empathy with. The description of depression as a slug that eats even the smallest piece of happiness gives readers a very clear impression of how debilitating depression is.

Yet (alert! this is the spoilery part) Aysel’s switch of her mission was a little too smooth for me. The subject matter makes it hard to take personal experience away from my review, so this might just be a me-thing, but it made the ending of the book feel a little rushed and neat.

I’m glad My Heart and Other Black Holes is out there. It’s not an easy subject and Jasmine Warga has written a very engaging book (I pretty much read it in one) with two characters that you care about. Aysel isn’t just her depression but a 3D person that just happens to be written on a page.

My Heart and Other Black Holes will hopefully speak to a lot of people.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

Jasmine Warga is returning on the 21 Feb 2015 as
part of the My Heart and Other Black Holes Blog Tour

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

Leave a Reply

